Fine Print of Paris Agreement Adopted, Implementation Pending

COP24 outcomes and analysis report

Flags
  • Press Releases 19.12.2018
Michal Kurtyka, COP24 President, thanks Frank Bainimarama, COP23 President, for bringing the Fijian tradition of Talanoa into the negotiation process. Photo: IISD/Kiara Worth (enb.iisd.org/climate/cop24/enb/12dec.html)

On 15 December 2018, this year's UN climate conference concluded with the adoption of the "Katowice Climate Package". This set of decisions operationalises the 2015 Paris Agreement by setting out detailed guidelines on how to implement its various elements. Researchers from the Wuppertal Institute attended the conference and have now summarised the key outcomes of the negotiations. Their initial findings show that while COP24 in Katowice prepared the technical framework for climate action and thus marks a significant step forward, the mitigation ambitions of most major emitting countries still fall far short of what would be necessary. An in-depth analysis report will be published in January.

From 2 to 15 December, the 24th Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP24) was held in Katowice, Poland. Among the key issues addressed at the conference were defining implementation guidelines for the Paris Agreement and increasing the level of ambition of climate action.

The Wuppertal Institute's research team on global climate governance closely observed the climate change negotiations during the two-week conference and now presents its initial analysis of the conference and its outcomes. A detailed analysis report will be available in January.

Key outcomes of COP24

The implementation guidelines adopted in Katowice in particular set out how countries are to develop and report on their climate protection pledges (the so-called nationally determined contributions - NDCs). Other key issues at the conference included financial support for developing countries and the procedures for how to conduct the first "Global Stocktake" of the effectiveness of global climate action in 2023.

"The guidelines are more robust than many had dared to expect at the start of the conference", explains Wolfgang Obergassel, project co-ordinator in the Energy, Transport and Climate Policy division. "Given recent rollbacks in key countries, in particular the US and Brazil, this is a remarkable achievement which shows that multilateral agreements are still possible and that the creation of loopholes, which may for example be created by complex market mechanisms, is not accepted by the majority of countries. Nonetheless, this is no more than a step in the right direction. Global greenhouse gas emissions are continuing to rise, with 2018 marking a new record year. And only a handful of countries used the occasion in Katowice to announce that they were going to strengthen their contributions."

"This is far too little to achieve the objectives of the Paris Agreement and for limiting the increase of global mean temperature well below 2°C above pre-industrial levels. The adoption of the implementation guidelines therefore only prepares the framework for the real work to come: actually reducing emissions", adds Manfred Fischedick, Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute. "With the negotiations on the Paris implementation guidelines having mostly been concluded, it is now possible to focus on the task of raising ambition. The Paris Agreement calls on countries to submit new or updated contributions by 2020. Countries therefore now urgently need to start intensive national discussions and live up to their responsibilities. The special climate summit that will be convened by UN Secretary-General António Guterres in 2019 should be used as a milestone in this process."

In addition, the conference in Katowice left much work for the next COP that will take place at the end of 2019 in Chile. In addition to continuing the discussion about the necessary level of ambition for successfully protecting the world’s climate, also the aspects of adaptation to climate change and the support for especially vulnerable countries need to be put on the agenda more prominently.

In-depth analysis report to be published in January

The Wuppertal Institute will publish its in-depth analysis of COP24 in January. The report will take a close look at the various issues addressed at the conference and at other related topics.
 

Press release

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

Responsible for content: Professor Uwe Schneidewind, President

Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org


Printable pictures

Impression of the COP24
Experts of the Wuppertal Institute followed the negotiations during the 24th UN Climate Change Conference. Photo: Wuppertal Institute

Kleingedrucktes zum Pariser Abkommen verabschiedet, Umsetzung steht aus

Ergebnispräsentation und Analysebericht zur COP24

Fahnen
  • Pressemitteilungen 19.12.2018
Michal Kurtyka, COP24-Präsident, dankt Frank Bainimarama, COP23-Präsident, für die Einbeziehung der fijianischen Tradition von Talanoa in den Verhandlungsprozess. Foto: IISD/Kiara Worth (enb.iisd.org/climate/cop24/enb/12dec.html)

Am 15. Dezember 2018 endete die diesjährige UN-Klimakonferenz mit der Verabschiedung des "Katowice Climate Package". Dieses Paket von Entscheidungen macht das Pariser Klimaschutz-Abkommen umsetzungsreif, indem es detaillierte Leitlinien für die Umsetzung der einzelnen Elemente des Abkommens vorgibt. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Wuppertal Instituts waren vor Ort und fassen nun die zentralen Ergebnisse der Verhandlungen knapp zusammen. Ihre erste Schnellanalyse zeigt: Die Konferenz in Katowice hat zwar den technischen Rahmen für den internationalen Klimaschutz bereitet und ist insofern ein wichtiger Schritt nach vorn, gemessen am Handlungsdruck sind die konkreten Minderungsambitionen der meisten großen Emittenten aber nach wie vor deutlich zu gering.

Vom 2. bis 15. Dezember fand in Katowice die 24. Konferenz der Vertragsparteien zur Klimarahmenkonvention (Conference of the Parties, kurz COP24) statt. Die zentralen Themen waren die Verabschiedung der Durchführungsbestimmungen des Pariser Klimaabkommens sowie die Erhöhung des klimapolitischen Ehrgeizes.
Während der vergangenen zwei Wochen verfolgten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Wuppertal Instituts intensiv die Verhandlungen der Weltklimakonferenz und legen nun eine erste Analyse der Konferenzergebnisse vor. Im Januar wird dann ein ausführlicher Analysebericht folgen.

Zentrale Ergebnisse der COP24

Die Bestimmungen, die in Katowice verabschiedet wurden, legen insbesondere fest, wie die Staaten ihre Klimaschutzzusagen (nationally determined contributions, NDCs) entwickeln und über deren Umsetzung berichten sollen. Andere wesentliche Themen der Konferenz beinhalteten die finanzielle Unterstützung für Entwicklungsländer sowie die Verfahren zur Durchführung der ersten globalen Bestandsaufnahme ("global stocktake") der Effektivität der globalen Klimaschutzanstrengungen, die in 2023 durchgeführt werden soll.

"Die Durchführungsbestimmungen sind robuster, als viele zu Beginn der Konferenz zu erwarten gehofft hatten", erklärt Wolfgang Obergassel, Projektleiter in der Abteilung Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut. "In Anbetracht der Rückschritte der letzten Zeit in wesentlichen Ländern, insbesondere den USA und Brasilien, ist dies ein bemerkenswerter Erfolg und zeigt, dass multilaterales Handeln weiterhin möglich ist und Schlupflöcher, die beispielsweise über komplexe Marktmechanismen entstehen können, nicht einfach hingenommen werden. Dennoch ist dies nur ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung. Die weltweiten Treibhausgasemissionen steigen weiter an, 2018 wird ein weiterer Rekordwert erreicht werden. Nur eine Handvoll von Ländern nutzte die Gelegenheit in Katowice, um anzukündigen, dass sie ihre Beiträge verstärken werden."

"Für das Erreichen der Pariser Klimaschutzbeschlüsse und die Begrenzung des Anstiegs der Weltmitteltemperatur auf deutlich unter 2 Grad Celsius gegenüber dem vorindustriellen Niveau ist dies viel zu wenig. Die Verabschiedung der Durchführungsbestimmungen setzt daher nur den Rahmen für die tatsächliche Arbeit, die nun ansteht: tatsächlich die Emissionen zu reduzieren", fügt Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, hinzu. "Da die Verhandlungen zu den Umsetzungsbestimmungen nun weitgehend abgeschlossen sind, ist es jetzt möglich, sich auf die Aufgabe der Ambitionssteigerung zu konzentrieren. Das Pariser Abkommen fordert die Länder auf, bis 2020 neue oder aktualisierte Beiträge vorzulegen. Die Staaten müssen nun dringend eine intensive nationale Diskussion hierzu starten und ihrer Verantwortung gerecht werden. Der Sondergipfel zum Klimaschutz, zu dem UN-Generalsekretär António Guterres für 2019 eingeladen hat, sollte als Meilenstein in diesem Prozess genutzt werden."

Die Konferenz in Katowice hat zudem viel Arbeit für die nächste COP, die Ende 2019 in Chile stattfinden wird, übrig gelassen. Neben der Fortsetzung der Diskussion über das notwendige Ambitionsniveau für einen erfolgreichen Schutz des Weltklimas gehören hier unter anderem auch Aspekte der Anpassung an den Klimawandel und die Unterstützung besonders verletzlicher Staaten prominenter auf die Tagesordnung.

Ausführlicher Analysebericht erscheint im Januar

Im Januar wird das Wuppertal Institut eine ausführlichere Analyse der COP24 veröffentlichen. Diese Analyse wird detaillierter auf die einzelnen Bereiche eingehen und noch weitere Themen in den Blick nehmen.
 

Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident

Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org


Pressebilder

Fotografischer Eindruck der COP24 in Katowice
Expertinnen und Experten des Wuppertal Instituts verfolgten die Verhandlungen während der 24. Weltklimakonferenz. Foto: Wuppertal Institut