Sustainable Emscher - Towards Sustainable Infrastructures

  • Project no.1182
  • Duration 04/2012 - 04/2013

The current Emscher conversion is an outstanding long-term infrastructure project, which already today makes an important contribution to the upgrading of the Ruhr area as a whole. The fundamental reorganisation of the existing sewage water infrastructure in the Emscher region (including the construction of a closed underground sewage canal and sewage treatment plants as well as the revitalisation of the Emscher and its affluents) is being accompanied by numerous initiatives from the field of planning, social work and education as well as from art and culture - e.g. during the European Capital of Culture year Ruhr.2010. Hence, the Emscher conversion is not only a technological project but also framed as an important trigger for notably improving the quality of life and achieving positive economic impacts in the Ruhr area.
Because of its success and with regards to the prevailing governance structures, the Emscher conversion has the potential to serve as a role model or blueprint for many other important infrastructure systems whose reorganisation is increasingly discussed against the background of sustainability issues.
The project aims at documenting the Emscher conversion and the development of its transfer potential to other infrastructure areas as well as its impulses for a sustainable Ruhr area. The documentation is planned as a book geared towards multipliers from politics, business, labour unions, churches and environmental organizations as well as the interested public.


Further project information

Links

Sustainable Emscher - Auf dem Weg zu nachhaltigen Infrastrukturen

  • Projekt-Nr.1182
  • Laufzeit 04/2012 - 04/2013

Der derzeitige Umbau des Emscher-Systems ist ein Generationenprojekt, mit dem es bereits heute gelungen ist, einen massiven Infrastrukturumbau zu einem wichtigen Beitrag für die Aufwertung der gesamten Ruhrgebiets-Region zu machen. Die grundlegende Neugestaltung der Abwasserinfrastrukturen im gesamten Emscher-Gebiet (Bau von unterirdischen Abwasserkanälen und Kläranlagen sowie Revitalisierung der Emscher und ihrer Nebenflüsse) wird unterstützt durch zahlreiche begleitende planerische, soziale und kulturelle Initiativen, unter anderem auch im Rahmen der Kulturhauptstadt Ruhr.2010. Der Emscher-Umbau beinhaltet damit nicht nur eine rein technologische Komponente des Infrastrukturumbaus, sondern ist auch konzipiert als wichtiger Impulsgeber für eine spürbare Verbesserung der Lebensqualität sowie eine darauf aufbauende ökonomische Aufwertung im gesamten Ruhrgebiet.
Der Emscher-Umbau kann aufgrund seiner inhaltlichen Erfolge sowie auch im Hinblick auf die Steuerungs-/Governance-Muster des vollzogenen Wandels als Blaupause für viele andere zentrale Infrastrukturbereiche dienen, deren nachhaltige Umgestaltung heutzutage zunehmend im Mittelpunkt steht.
Ziel des Projektes ist die Dokumentation des Emscher-Umbaus und die Entwicklung seines Transferpotenzials auf andere Infrastrukturbereiche sowie dessen Strahlkraft für ein zukunftsfähiges Ruhrgebiet. Vorgesehen ist eine Veröffentlichung als Buch, das sich an Multiplikatoren in Politik, Unternehmen, Gewerkschaften, Kirchen und Umweltverbänden sowie an eine engagierte und interessierte Öffentlichkeit wendet.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links