KomRev

The Municipal Efficiency Revolution for Climate Protection in German Cities - Requirements, Transformation Paths and Effects

  • Project no. 3154
  • Duration 11/2012 - 12/2017

In this project, named "KomRev", efficient energy utilisation and supply systems for the municipal level are developed using the example of the city Rheine. Two technically and economically feasible concepts for the year 2050 (target visions) are elaborated which describe an exergetical efficiently networked energy supply. These enable to examine a possibly solid range of target states. This will be done regarding the current sectoral limits (in this case electricity, heat, gas, and transport) and particularly across these limits in order to determine and evaluate useful options of networking. Based on this, appropriate paths of transformation to reach this target visions are determined. An exergetical evaluation of the possible options ensures a high use of regionally available energy resources.

The Solar-Institut Jülich at the FH Aachen (SIJ) holds the scientific management. The research consortium consists of the SIJ, the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, the German Aerospace Center, and the Klimaschutzstelle Rheine. Within the KomRev project, the Wuppertal Institute is responsible for the subject fields energy demand concepts and traffic as well as the detailed modelling of a selected system extract.

The project implementation is supported by the Project Management Jülich. The Project is subsidised as part of the German Climate Initiative by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety.

KomRev

Die kommunale Effizienzrevolution für den Klimaschutz in den deutschen Städten - Voraussetzungen, Transformationspfade und Wirkungen

  • Projekt-Nr. 3154
  • Laufzeit 11/2012 - 12/2017

Im Forschungsvorhaben "KomRev" werden effiziente Energienutzungs- und Versorgungskonzepte für die kommunale Ebene am Beispiel der Stadt Rheine entwickelt. Es werden zwei technisch und wirtschaftlich machbare Konzepte einer exergetisch effizient vernetzten Gesamtversorgung für das Zieljahr 2050 erarbeitet (Zielvisionen), um eine möglichst robuste Bandbreite an Zielzuständen aufspannen und untersuchen zu können. Dies erfolgt sowohl mit Orientierung an den heutigen sektoralen Grenzen (hier Strom, Wärme, Gas und Verkehr) als auch insbesondere über die jeweiligen Grenzen hinaus, um sinnvolle Optionen von Vernetzungen bestimmen und bewerten zu können. Auf dieser Basis erfolgt eine Bestimmung geeigneter Veränderungswege (Transformationspfade), um die Zielvision robust erreichen zu können. Damit sollen richtungssichere Investitionsentscheidungen unterstützt werden. Eine exergetische Bewertung der Entscheidungsoptionen sichert eine hohe Nutzung regional verfügbarer Energieressourcen.

Die wissenschaftliche Leitung des Projektes hat das Solar-Institut Jülich der FH Aachen (SIJ) inne. Das Forschungs-Konsortium besteht neben dem SIJ aus dem Wuppertal Institut, dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der Klimaschutzstelle der Stadt Rheine. Das Wuppertal Institut bearbeitet im Projekt KomRev die Themenfelder Energiebedarfskonzepte und Verkehr sowie die detaillierte Modellierung eines ausgewählten Systemausschnitts.

Die Projektdurchführung wird durch den Projektträger Jülich unterstützt. Das Projekt wird gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit im Rahmen der Klimaschutzinitiative.