Short Study on Industrial Waste Heat Potentials in North Rhine-Westphalia

  • Project no.150445
  • Duration 05/2015 - 06/2015

The final energy use of process heat (without hot water and process cooling) in Germany amounted in total 1 960 PJ in the year 2013 which is equivalent to 21 % of the total final energy demand. The highest amount results with 1 701 PJ respectively 87 % of the industrial process heat (BMWi 2015). Depending on the process, a mostly significant proportion of the used heat is wasted or sometimes has to be dissipated with additional cooling efforts. As a potential source of waste heat, furnaces, heat emissions of production plants and machines, waste water of washing, dyeing and cooling processes, refrigerator systems, cooling of server rooms, motors as well as the exhaust air of the production halls can be worth considering. It is estimated that, despite of great efforts for the heat integration in Germany, almost 500 PJ waste heat are emitted into the environment per year (Enova 2009; Pehnt et al. 2010). This shows the great potential of the savings of primary energy sources as well as of the reduction of CO2 emissions. The theoretically useable waste heat potentials are only partially internally or externally (through third parties) used so far and are in their totality neither spatial nor potential related systematically recorded.

In the course of the development of the climate protection plan of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) and downstream stakeholder processes, several industry representatives expressed their interests in a systematic preparation of industrial waste heat potentials. Research needs are seen for example in the question, how heating networks transcending branches and companies in NRW can be realised. Further suggestions of the industry concern pilot projects of combined heat systems, the determination of potentials for the conversion of waste heat into electricity, respectively for the use of electricity in order to raise the temperature level of waste heat or the further development of innovative technologies for the power supply with waste heat, such as organic Rankine cycle (ORC) or the thermoelectric generators (TEG). 

Regarding this background, the Wuppertal Institute together with the DLR Stuttgart developed a brief study on behalf of the Ministry for Climate Protection, Environment, Agriculture, Conservation and Consumer Protection of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia (MKULNV). In this study following components were worked out:

  1. Identification of potential waste heat hotspots in NRW
  2. Content preparation of the core topics for the use of industrial (and municipal) waste heat potentials and illustration of good-practice examples
  3. Identification of barriers and factors of success as well as approaches for a source-sink-matching regarding the waste heat use (method: expert interviews)
  4. Development of theoretical foundations of "Heat Network Plans" as an option for a source-sink matching
  5. Development of recommendations for action to the policy in order to improve the boundary conditions for the use of industrial (and municipal) waste heat.

In the first part, regional hotspots with high industrial energy consumption were identified on the basis of the fuel and electricity input. High energy consumptions are a necessary but not a sufficient criterion for potentially relevant waste heat potentials. As a result, a map for the energy demand, broken down to different branches, for NRW is available in which the energy consumptions of all industry companies above 200 TJ/a (fuels), respectively 500 TJ/a (electricity), are listed. Additionally, a detailed map for the area Oberhausen/Duisburg was worked out.

In the second part, basic contents like characteristics of waste heat, utilisation strategies, technologies of different maturity levels and energy politic boundary conditions for the use of waste heat were given in an overview. Furthermore, the range of already used technologies and realised projects is presented through thirteen good-practice examples.

Based on ten expert interviews with stakeholders of associations and companies of energy intensive branches as well as of state institutions, research and power supply companies, primarily barriers and factors of success for the use of industrial (and municipal) waste heat are identified in part three. In these interviews, additional questions, for instance concerning the relevance of this topic in companies, concerning suitable approaches for a source-sink matching or regarding research and development demands, particularly for innovative technologies, were considered and the related answers were analysed.

In the fourth part, the concept of the "Heat Network Plans" as a possible methodology for the linking of waste heat sources to waste heat sinks as well as for the assessment of identified source-sink relations (source-sink matching) is outlined. This involves an evaluation method for the analysis and the comparison of waste heat utilisation concepts in consideration of technical, economic and ecological aspects (energy efficiency, energy and resource consumption) as well as the liability law.

In conclusion, the knowledge gained out of the interviews and literature analyses is used in part five in order to derive recommendations for action for the policy. There, the analysis of the expert interviews plays a central role. The recommendations for action are intended to help to eliminate the identified barriers for the use of industrial waste heat on the one hand, and to strengthen the factors of success and driving forces/actors on the other hand. The worked out suggestions are structured in technical, economic, organisational-structural as well as legal action fields. They address the general waste heat use as well as the topics of the feed-in into (external) heat grids, low-temperature heat and innovative technologies. 

The analysis shows that high waste heat potentials and a fundamental interest to the utilisation of waste heat are existing on the one hand, however that on the other hand numerous barriers oppose the economic utilisation. The brief study provides information about approaches which help to overcome these barriers. Therefore, the research in the field of waste heat utilisation as well as the practical implementation have to be pushed further. Based on the results of this short study, it would be possible to implement a practical project in the future together with interested companies in order to identify concrete implementation potentials for waste heat while using the system of the source-sink matching (Heat Network Plans) which are worked out within the project.

Kurzstudie Industrielle Abwärmepotenziale in NRW

  • Projekt-Nr.150445
  • Laufzeit 05/2015 - 06/2015

Der Endenergieeinsatz für Prozesswärme (ohne Warmwasser und Prozesskälte) in Deutschland betrug im Jahre 2013 insgesamt 1.960 PJ. Das entspricht 21 % des gesamten Endenergiebedarfs. Der mit 1.701 PJ oder 87 % größte Anteil entfällt dabei auf die industrielle Prozesswärme (BMWi 2015). Je nach Prozess geht ein oft nicht unerheblicher Anteil der eingesetzten Wärme ungenutzt verloren bzw. muss teilweise mit zusätzlichem Kühlaufwand abgeleitet werden. Als potenzielle Abwärmequellen kommen Öfen, Wärmeabstrahlung aus Produktionsmaschinen oder -anlagen, Abwässer aus Wasch-, Färbe- oder Kühlungsprozessen, Kühlanlagen, Kühlung von Serverräumen, Motoren oder die in Produktionshallen anfallende Abluft in Frage. Es wird geschätzt, dass trotz großer Bemühungen zur Wärmeintegration in Deutschland knapp 500 PJ Abwärme pro Jahr an die Umgebung abgegeben werden (Enova 2009; Pehnt et al. 2010). Dies zeigt das große Potenzial zur Einsparung von Primärenergieträgern und zur Reduktion von CO2-Emissionen. Die theoretisch nutzbaren Abwärmepotenziale werden bisher nur teilweise intern oder extern durch Dritte genutzt und sind in ihrer Gesamtheit weder räumlich noch potenzialseitig systematisch erfasst.

Im Rahmen der Erstellung des Klimaschutzplans NRW und nachgelagerter Stakeholderprozesse haben einige Industrievertreter großes Interesse an einer systematischen Aufbereitung industrieller Abwärmepotenziale geäußert. Forschungsbedarfe werden beispielsweise bei der Frage gesehen, wie sich unternehmens- und branchenübergreifende Wärmeverbünde in NRW realisieren lassen. Weitere Anregungen aus der Industrie betreffen Pilotprojekte zu Wärmeverbünden, die Ermittlung von Potenzialen zur Verstromung von Abwärme bzw. zur Nutzung von Strom zur Hebung des Temperaturniveaus von Abwärme oder die Weiterentwicklung von innovativen Technologien zur Abwärmeverstromung wie z. B. Organic Rankine Cycle (ORC) oder Thermoelektrische Generatoren (TEG).

Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das Wuppertal Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem DLR Stuttgart eine Kurzstudie im Auftrag des Ministeriums für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Landwirtschaft, Natur- und Verbraucherschutz des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (MKULNV) durchgeführt. In dieser Studie wurden folgende Bausteine erarbeitet:

  1. Identifikation von potenziellen Abwärme-Hot-Spots in NRW
  2. Inhaltliche Aufbereitung der Kernthemen zur Nutzung industrieller (und kommunaler) Abwärmepotenziale und Aufzeigen von Good-Practice-Beispielen
  3. Identifikation von Hemmnissen und Erfolgsfaktoren sowie Ansätzen für ein Source-Sink-Matching bei der Abwärmenutzung (Methode: Experteninterviews)
  4. Erarbeitung von Grundlagen zu "Wärmenetzplänen" als eine Option für ein Source-Sink-Matching
  5. Erarbeitung von Handlungsvorschlägen an die Politik zur Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen zur Nutzung industrieller und kommunaler Abwärme.

Im ersten Baustein wurden jeweils auf Basis des Brennstoff- und Stromeinsatzes regionale Hot-Spots mit hohen industriellen Energieverbräuchen identifiziert. Hohe Energieverbräuche sind ein notwendiges, wenn auch nicht hinreichendes Kriterium für potenziell relevante Abwärmepotenziale. Im Ergebnis liegt eine nach Branchen aufgeschlüsselte Energiebedarfskarte für NRW und vor, in welcher die Energieverbräuche aller Industrieunternehmen oberhalb von 200 TJ/a (Brennstoffe) bzw. 500 TJ/a (Strom) verzeichnet sind. Zusätzlich wurde eine Detailkarte beispielhaft für den Raum Oberhausen/Duisburg erarbeitet.

Im zweiten Baustein werden grundlegende Inhalte wie Charakteristik von Abwärme, Nutzungsstrategien, Technologien unterschiedlicher Reifegrade und energiepolitische Rahmenbedingungen zur Nutzung von Abwärme in Übersichten dargestellt. Ferner wird die Bandbreite bereits eingesetzter Technologien und realisierter Projekte anhand von dreizehn Good-Practice-Beispielen aufgezeigt.

Anhand von zehn Experten-Interviews mit Stakeholdern aus Verbänden und Unternehmen energieintensiver Branchen sowie aus Landeseinrichtungen, Forschung und EVU wurden im Baustein 3 schwerpunktmäßig Hemmnisse und Erfolgsfaktoren bei der Nutzung industrieller und kommunaler Abwärme identifiziert. In den Interviews wurden weitere Fragen wie z. B. nach der Relevanz des Themas im Unternehmen, nach geeigneten Ansätzen für ein Source-Sink-Matching oder nach Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbedarfen insbesondere für innovative Technologien erörtert und entsprechende Antworten ausgewertet.

Im vierten Baustein wird das Konzept der "Wärmenetzpläne" als eine mögliche Methodik zur Verknüpfung von Abwärme-Quellen mit Abwärme-Senken sowie zur Bewertung identifizierter Quellen-Senken-Beziehungen (Source-Sink-Matching) skizziert. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Bewertungsmethode zur Analyse und zum Vergleich von Abwärmenutzungskonzepten unter Berücksichtigung von technischen, wirtschaftlichen, haftungsrechtlichen und ökologischen Aspekten (Energieeffizienz, Energie- und Ressourcenverbrauch).

Aus den gewonnen Erkenntnissen der vorausgehenden Bausteine werden abschließend in Baustein 5 Handlungsempfehlungen an die Politik abgeleitet. Dabei spielt die Auswertung der Experten-Interviews eine zentrale Rolle. Die Handlungsvorschläge sollen helfen, einerseits identifizierte Hemmnisse bei der Nutzung industrieller Abwärme zu beseitigen und andererseits Erfolgsfaktoren und Treiber/Akteure zu stärken. Die erarbeiteten Vorschläge sind gegliedert nach technischen, wirtschaftlichen, organisatorisch-strukturellen sowie rechtlichen Handlungsfeldern und adressieren neben der allgemeinen Abwärmenutzung die Themen Einspeisung in (externe) Wärmenetze, Niedertemperatur-Wärme sowie innovative Technologien.

Die Analyse zeigt, dass einerseits hohe Abwärmepotenziale und ein grundsätzliches Interesse an der Abwärmenutzung existieren, jedoch andererseits noch zahlreiche Hemmnisse der wirtschaftlichen Nutzung entgegenstehen. Die Kurzstudie gibt Hinweise darauf, mit welchen Ansätzen diese Hemmnisse überwunden werden könnten. Sowohl die Forschung im Themenfeld Abwärmenutzung als auch die praktische Umsetzung müssen dabei weiter vorangetrieben werden. Aufbauend auf den Ergebnissen dieser Kurzstudie könnte beispielsweise zukünftig ein praktisches Projekt zur Identifikation konkreter Abwärme-Umsetzungspotenziale mit interessierten Unternehmen durchgeführt werden, bei dem die im Rahmen des Projektes erarbeitete Systematik eines Source-Sink-Matching (Wärmenetzpläne) angewandt wird.