Contribution to the Project "Energy Transition Platform 2015-17"

  • Project no. 150718
  • Duration 11/2015 - 12/2016

To support highly industrialised, energy intensive state and regional governments in developing and implementing innovative clean energy policies, The Climate Group launched the "Energy Transition Platform" with North Rhine-Westphalia and Stiftung Mercator. The partner regions from Europe, North America and Australia come together to learn from their global peers, to build strong partnerships and to jointly overcome barriers to the adoption of clean energy models.

For this process of exchange and dialogue, the Wuppertal Institute conducted a case study on energy transition policies and models in the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia for the Climate Group. The study describes and discusses recent trends in North Rhine-Westphalia's energy and climate policy as well as policy instruments and good practice projects.

The report shows that even though North Rhine-Westphalia faces peculiar challenges, it modernises the energy system and the industrial region systematically and intensively by making use of a multifaceted toolset. Such a proactive and long-term approach is key premise to avoid that the upcoming transformation does not lead to a hardly controllable break of structures in NRW and its regions and municipalities, but rather to a step-by-step structural transformation that is designed by policies, economy and society.

"Energy Transition Platform 2015-17" - ein Projektbeitrag

  • Projekt-Nr.150718
  • Laufzeit 11/2015 - 12/2016

Um weltweit hochindustrialisierte, energieintensive Bundesländer und Regionen bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von innovativer Klimapolitik zu unterstützen, wurde unter der Leitung der "Climate Group" mit Unterstützung der nordrhein-westfälischen Landesregierung und der Stiftung Mercator die "Energy Transition Platform" ins Leben gerufen. Ziel ist der Austausch von Erfahrungen sowie eine Einflussnahme auf den internationalen Klimadialog.

Für diesen Austausch- und Dialogprozess erarbeitete das Wuppertal Institut für die "Climate Group" die Fallstudie "Eine Industrieregion im Wandel - Energie- und klimapolitische Rahmenbedingungen, Strategien und Instrumente in NRW". In dem Bericht werden aktuelle energie- und klimapolitische Entwicklungen, Politikinstrumente und Modellprojekte dargestellt und diskutiert.

Die Fallstudie macht deutlich, dass Nordrhein-Westfalen bei der Umsetzung der Energiewende zwar vor besonderen Herausforderungen steht, die Modernisierung des Energiesystems und des Industriestandortes NRW jedoch mit Hilfe eines vielfältigen Instrumentariums systematisch und intensiv angeht. Eine solche proaktive und langfristig ausgelegte Herangehensweise ist zentrale Voraussetzung dafür, dass die bevorstehende Transformation letztlich nicht zu einem kaum steuerbaren Strukturbruch in NRW und seinen Regionen und Kommunen führt, sondern zu einem schrittweisen Strukturwandel, der von Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft gemeinsam gestaltet wird.