Establishment of a German-Japanese Energy Transition Council

  • Project no.250789
  • Duration 04/2016 - 04/2018

Despite of differences in energy politics and supply, Japan and Germany have to master similar challenges: To reorganise the energy supply system with the objective to attain a system which in a long-term shall be reliable and low in risk, resource-friendly and widely climate-neutral. At the same time, the ecological modernisation should maintain, or even strengthen the international competitiveness. To better face these challenges in the future, a bi-national energy transition council between the two high-tech countries Germany and Japan will be established within the frame of the project.

The Council's work is focussed on the scientific exchange of knowledge in the field of energy sector issues and mutual learning. On the basis of good and successful examples from both countries, new and long-term perspectives on the way of an ambitious energy transition shall open up. The Council as a whole meets twice a year, alternately in Germany and Japan. On the basis of several meetings with high-ranking representatives from politics, science and civil society in Japan and Germany, a comprehensive organisation concept for the Council has been developed.

In the first phase of the project, the Council members are appointed (incl. associated members) and research questions for five studies are formulated which will be elaborated by leading institutions in the field. The results of this study programme as well as further analyses by the scientific secretariats will support the Council's work. Results will be documented continuously and made available for politics, economy and civil society.

On the German side, the Wuppertal Institute supports the Council's work as the scientific secretariat. In Japan this role is played by the renowned Institute of Energy Economics Japan (IEEJ). Prof. Dr. Peter Hennicke, former president of the Wuppertal Institute and idea-giver to establish a German-Japanese Energy Transition Council, is functioning as co-chair in cooperation with his Japanese colleague Prof. Masakazu Toyoda. ECOS Consult is responsible for the organisational support and contributes with its long-standing competence in Japanese-German projects.


Further project information

Links

Einrichtung eines "Deutsch-Japanischen Kooperationsrates zur Energiewende"

  • Projekt-Nr.250789
  • Laufzeit 04/2016 - 04/2018

Trotz der Unterschiede in Energiepolitik und -versorgung stehen Japan und Deutschland vor ähnlichen Herausforderungen: Das Energiesystem so umzubauen, dass es auf lange Sicht risikoarm und versorgungssicher sowie ressourcenschonend und weitgehend klimaneutral ist. Zugleich gilt es mit der ökologischen Modernisierung die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu erhalten. Um diesen Herausforderungen zukünftig besser begegnen zu können, wird im Rahmen des Projektes ein bi-nationaler Expertenrat zwischen den beiden Hochtechnologieländern Deutschland und Japan eingerichtet.

Im Mittelpunkt der Ratsarbeit stehen der wissenschaftliche Austausch von Erfahrungen zu energiewirtschaftlichen Fragestellungen und das gegenseitige Lernen. Auf Grundlage guter und erfolgreicher Beispiele aus beiden Ländern sollen neue und langfristige Perspektiven auf dem Weg einer ambitionierten Energiewende eröffnet werden - mit nationaler und internationaler Reichweite. Der Rat als Ganzes wird sich zweimal jährlich treffen, alternierend in Deutschland und Japan. Durch zahlreiche Gespräche mit hochrangigen Vertretern aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft in Japan und Deutschland wurde bereits im Vorfeld ein umfassendes Organisationskonzept für den Rat entwickelt.

In der ersten Phase des Projektes erfolgt die Benennung der Ratsmitglieder (inkl. assoziierter Mitglieder) und es werden Forschungsfragen für fünf Studien formuliert, die im Rahmen der Ratsarbeit von führenden Einrichtungen erarbeitet werden sollen. Ergebnisse dieses Studienprogramms sowie weiterführende Analysen durch die wissenschaftlichen Sekretariate bilden die Grundlage der Ratsarbeit. Der fachliche Analyse- und Beratungsstand des Rates wird für Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft dokumentiert und kommuniziert.

Auf deutscher Seite unterstützt das Wuppertal Institut die Ratsarbeit als wissenschaftliches Sekretariat, auf japanischer Seite übernimmt diese Aufgabe das renommierte Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ). Prof. Dr. Peter Hennicke, ehemaliger Präsident des Wuppertal Instituts und Ideengeber des deutsch-japanischen Expertenrates, agiert als Co-Chair zusammen mit seinem japanischen Kollegen Prof. Masakazu Toyoda. ECOS Consult übernimmt die organisatorische Unterstützung und bringt als Berater eine langjährige Japankompetenz in das Projekt ein.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links