Decarbonization Pathways for the Port of Rotterdam Region

  • Project no. 150848
  • Duration 04/2016 - 09/2016

The Wuppertal Institute developed long-term climate protection scenarios for the Port of Rotterdam industrial cluster on behalf of the Port of Rotterdam Authority. The port area is home to about 80% of the Netherlands' petrochemical industry and significant power plant capacities. The main goal of the project was to point out possibilities for a drastic reduction of the Port area's greenhouse gas emissions by the middle of the century in accordance with the EU's climate protection goals.

For this purpose, three different model-driven mitigation scenarios were developed. These scenarios differ, on the one hand, in the assumed level of ambition of the EU's 2050 GHG emission reduction, and, on the other hand, in the assumed structural development of the industrial cluster located in the Port area. In the scenarios, the assumed level of the EU's climate mitigation ambition influences the future market potential of the industrial cluster's companies. For example, future demand for fossil fuels in the transport sector or for electricity from conventional coal power plants is assumed to differ depending on the stringency of climate mitigation efforts. The analysis focused on power plants, refineries and the chemical industry, which together are responsible for more than 90% of the Port area's current CO2 emissions.

The developed scenarios were presented and discussed at two workshops with key stakeholders of the Port region, including representatives of companies and non-governmental organisations. In these workshops, the different scenarios as well as the individual mitigation strategies and technologies were discussed with respect to their feasibility and attractiveness. The results of these discussions then lead to a revision of the scenarios.

Based on the findings of the scenarios, recommendations for the Port Authority, the area's companies and policymakers were derived. These recommendations for action are intended to show which measures should be taken at what time to facilitate a profound decarbonisation of the port area.

The final results of the project form a key basis for the development of a long-term decarbonisation strategy for the Port of Rotterdam.

Wuppertal Institute's project team received external support during the course of the project from Dr. Emile Chappin and Dr. Rob Stikkelman from the Delft University of Technology.

Klimaschutzszenarien für die Hafenregion Rotterdam

  • Projekt-Nr.150848
  • Laufzeit 04/2016 - 09/2016

Das Wuppertal Institut hat im Auftrag des Hafenbetriebs (Port of Rotterdam Authority) langfristige Klimaschutzszenarien für die Hafenregion Rotterdam entwickelt. Die Hafenregion beheimatet rund 80 % der petrochemischen Industrie der Niederlande und große Stromerzeugungskapazitäten. Die Klimaschutzszenarien zeigen Möglichkeiten auf, wie die Hafenregion bis Mitte des Jahrhunderts ihre Treibhausgasemissionen in Einklang mit den Klimaschutzzielen der EU drastisch senken kann.

Zu diesem Zweck wurden modellbasiert drei verschiedene Klimaschutzszenarien für die Hafenregion entwickelt. Diese unterscheiden sich zum einen in der Annahme über das Ambitionsniveau der Treibhausgasminderungen der EU bis zum Jahr 2050 und zum anderen in der angenommenen strukturellen Entwicklung des im Hafen ansässigen Industrieclusters. Das angenommene und je nach Szenario variierte Ambitionsniveau beim europäischen Klimaschutz hat dabei Rückwirkungen auf das zukünftige Absatzpotenzial der im Industriecluster vertretenen Unternehmen. Rückwirkungen ergeben sich z. B. in Bezug auf die Nachfrage nach fossilen Kraftstoffen im Verkehrssektor oder nach Strom aus Kohlekraftwerken. Einen Schwerpunkt der Analyse bildeten dabei die Bereiche "Kraftwerke", "Raffinerien" und "chemische Industrie", die gegenwärtig gemeinsam mehr als 90 % der CO2-Emissionen des Hafengebiets verursachen.

Die entwickelten Szenarien wurden in zwei Workshops mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren vor Ort - Vertreterinnen und Vertretern von Unternehmen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen – diskutiert. Dabei wurden die Szenarien sowie die einzelnen zur Anwendung kommenden Klimaschutzstrategien und -technologien von den Akteuren bezüglich ihrer jeweiligen Realisierbarkeit und Vorteilhaftigkeit eingeordnet. Die Erkenntnisse aus den Workshop-Diskussionen flossen in die anschließende Überarbeitung der Szenarien ein.

Abschließend wurden auf Grundlage der Erkenntnisse aus der Szenarioerarbeitung Handlungsempfehlungen für den Hafenbetrieb, für die in der Region ansässigen Unternehmen sowie für die Politik abgeleitet. Die Handlungsempfehlungen sollen aufzeigen, welche wesentlichen Maßnahmen kurz- bis mittelfristig getroffen werden können, um eine tiefgreifende Dekarbonisierung der Hafenregion zu ermöglichen.

Die Ergebnisse des Projekts bilden eine zentrale Grundlage für die Entwicklung einer langfristig ausgelegten Dekarbonisierungsstrategie für den Hafen von Rotterdam.

Externe Unterstützung erhielt das Projektteam des Wuppertal Instituts im Projektverlauf durch Dr. Emile Chappin und Dr. Rob Stikkelman von der Technischen Universität Delft.