WANDEL

Water Resources as Important Factors of the Energy Transition at the Local and Global Level

  • Project no. 150821
  • Duration 08/2017 - 07/2020

Water and energy are two priority areas of the sustainable development goals (SDGs) and although they are mentioned as separate themes many interconnections between the water and energy goals exist. In the context of the transition towards a more sustainable energy system it is therefore important to understand the potential conflicts and synergies between energy and water aspects.

Accordingly, the aim of the project WANDEL, which is supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of the funding initiative GROW and coordinated by the Center for Environmental Systems Research (CESR) at the University of Kassel, is to explore whether limitations in the availability of water can accelerate or delay the global energy transition. To answer these two overarching research questions interlinked analysis on the regional and on the global level will be conducted.

Based on the overall objective the aim of sub-project carried out by the Wuppertal Institute is to examine the linkages between water resources and energy technologies at the local level by conducting a case study on solar thermal power plants (CSP) in Morocco. For this purpose, the water requirements of CSP technology options are analysed in relation to the development of regional water availability and demand in the Drâa Valley (Morocco), giving particular attention to the potential socio-economic development paths.

On the global level the objective of the project is to address the direct and indirect water requirements of selected energy technologies in relation to the available water resources. To this end, the Wuppertal Institute conducts a meta-analysis of energy scenarios in order to determine where and to which extent selected technologies are expected to be deployed in the future. In a second step, demand-side water scenarios are generated by linking the potential energy capacity installations with their direct water consumption, so that the water consumption can be allocated.

WANDEL

Wasserressourcen als bedeutsame Faktoren der Energiewende auf lokaler und globaler Ebene

  • Projekt-Nr.150821
  • Laufzeit 08/2017 - 07/2020

Wasser und Energie sind zentrale Themen der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung, gleichzeitig bestehen zwischen Wasser- und Energieversorgung vielfältige Verknüpfungen. Im Rahmen der geplanten Neuausrichtung der globalen Energieversorgung sollten daher mögliche Zielkonflikte und Synergien zwischen Wasserressourcen und Energieerzeugung untersucht werden.

Ziel des Projektes WANDEL ist die Erforschung, ob Einschränkungen in der Wasserverfügbarkeit die weltweite Energiewende beschleunigen oder verzögern kann. Diese beiden übergreifenden Forschungsfragen werden auf regionaler Ebene und auf globaler Ebene untersucht. Koordiniert wird das Projekt vom Center for Environmental Systems Research (CESR) an der Universität Kassel.

Ziel des vom Wuppertal Institut durchgeführten Teilvorhabens ist auf regionaler Ebene, anhand einer Fallstudie zu solarthermischen Kraftwerken (CSP) in Marokko die lokalen Zusammenhänge zwischen Wasserressourcen und Energietechnologien zu untersuchen. Dazu wird der Wasserbedarf von CSP-Technologieoptionen in Beziehung zur Entwicklung der regionaler Wasserverfügbarkeit und -nachfrage im Drâa Valley (Marokko) unter besonderer Berücksichtigung sozio-ökonomischer Entwicklungspfade analysiert.

Auf globaler Ebene ist das Ziel von WANDEL den direkten und indirekten Wasserbedarf ausgewählter Energietechnologien in Beziehung zu den verfügbaren Wasserressourcen zu setzen. Das Wuppertal Institut wird im Rahmen dieser Untersuchungen als ersten Schritt eine Metaanalyse von Energieszenarien durchführen, um festzustellen in welchen Regionen ausgewählte Technologien verbreitet sind bzw. zukünftig ausgebaut werden sollen. In einem zweitem Schritt werden nachfrageseitige Wasserszenarien erstellt, indem die Kapazitäten der betrachteten Technologien zunächst mit deren direkten Wasserverbräuchen gekoppelt werden, sodass der Verbrauch räumlich und zeitlich verortet werden kann.

Das Projekt wird innerhalb der GROW-Fördermaßnahme des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert.