EIO5

Measuring and Analysing Eco-Innovation Uptake and Policies

  • Project no.351621
  • Duration 01/2019 - 12/2020

In December 2018, the European Commission's Directorate General for Environment awarded the EIO5 contract to a consortium of five project partners led by Technopolis Consulting Group Belgium to maintain and further develop indicators and metrics of eco-innovation performance, which were developed by the Eco-Innovation Observatory (EIO) during 2010-2018.

The overall objective of the project is to contribute to better eco-innovation policy making by improving the monitoring system and understanding of eco-innovation and circular economy trends. The specific objectives are:

  • To further expand the basis for the EU eco-innovation and circular economy observation system by supplementing existing reliable indicators with new metrics for monitoring policy performance across the Member States.
  • To strengthen the Eco-Innovation Index, including the indicators and methodology for its calculation.
  • To maintain the eco-innovation monitoring in Member States by producing the annual Eco-innovation Index and biennial analysis of eco-innovation and circular economy developments in each of the EU Member States.
  • To contribute to understanding the eco-innovation and circular economy challenges in the EU and beyond by producing in-depth analysis in the biennial report.

The Wuppertal Institute will lead the work on the Biennial Analytical Report.


Further project information

Links

EIO5

Measuring and Analysing Eco-Innovation Uptake and Policies

  • Projekt-Nr.351621
  • Laufzeit 01/2019 - 12/2020

Im Dezember 2018 hat die Generaldirektion Umwelt der Europäischen Kommission den Auftrag zur Erhebung und Weiterentwicklung der Indikatoren und Kennzahlen für die Messung der Eco Innovation Performance der Europäischen Union (EU) und deren Mitgliedstaaten, die vom Eco-Innovation Observatory (EIO) im Zeitraum 2010 bis 2018 entwickelt und begleitet worden sind, an ein Konsortium aus fünf Projektpartnern unter der Leitung der Technopolis Consulting Group Belgium vergeben.

Das übergeordnete Ziel des Projekts ist es, zu einer besseren Politikgestaltung im Bereich der Öko-Innovationen beizutragen, indem das derzeitige Beobachtungssystem und das Verständnis für Öko-Innovations- und Kreislaufwirtschaftstrends verbessert wird. Die spezifischen Ziele sind:

  • Erweiterung der Grundlagen des Beobachtungssystems durch Ergänzung des vorhandenen zuverlässigen Indikatorensets durch neue Kennzahlen zur Messung der politischen Entwicklung im Kontext Öko-Innovationen und Kreislaufwirtschaft.
  • Stärkung des Öko-Innovationsindexes, einschließlich der Indikatoren und der Methodik für seine Berechnung.
  • Beobachtung der Öko-Innovationen in den Mitgliedstaaten durch Berechnung des jährlichen Öko-Innovationsindexes und der zweijährlichen Analyse der Entwicklungen in allen EU-Mitgliedstaaten.
  • Beitrag zum Verständnis der notwendigen Rahmenbedingungen für Öko-Innovationen und Kreislaufwirtschaft in der EU durch eine eingehende Analyse im Zweijahresbericht.

Das Wuppertal Institut wird die Arbeit an dem zweijährlichen Analysebericht zu einem im Verlauf des Projekts näher bestimmtem aktuellen Öko-Innovationsthema leiten und zur Entwicklung der Länderprofile und der Arbeit an Indikatoren beitragen.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links


Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer