KliBil-GLS Bank

Climate Balance and Avoided Greenhouse Gas Emissions in GLS Bank's Financial and Investment Portfolio

  • Project no.451767
  • Duration 12/2018 - 12/2019

45 years ago, GLS Bank was the world's first social and ecological bank. To this day, it is the reference for sustainable banking. Above all, its transparency is exemplary. But now the GLS Bank is taking a next step and develops methods to make its societal impact even more transparent – by quantifying it with great effort. This will enable all stakeholders to better understand their bank's performance.

In this context, the GLS bank assigned the Wuppertal Institute to determine the carbon footprint of its financial and investment portfolio. The aim is to assess both direct and indirect greenhouse gas emissions (scope 1, scope 2 and, in some cases scope 3) and its contributions to climate protection (avoided emissions).

For this purpose, the following is carried out in cooperation between GLS Bank and the Wuppertal Institute:

  • quantifying the greenhouse gas emissions of the GLS assets (carbon footprint),
  • the development and testing of concepts for longer-term monitoring, and
  • the estimation of avoided greenhouse gas emissions in the investment and financing sectors.

The current guidelines of the Platform for Carbon Accounting Financials (PCAF) and preliminary work by the Wuppertal Institute provide the methodological basis. In many areas, however, new methods and models are being developed within the framework of the project.

KliBil-GLS Bank

Klimabilanz und vermiedene Treibhausgasemissionen des Finanz- und Anlageportfolios der GLS Bank

  • Projekt-Nr.451767
  • Laufzeit 12/2018 - 12/2019

Vor 45 Jahren war die GLS Bank die erste soziale und ökologische Bank der Welt. Bis heute ist sie die Referenz des nachhaltigen Bankgeschäfts. Beispielhaft ist vor allem ihre Transparenz. Doch nun geht die GLS Bank den nächsten Schritt und entwickelt Methoden, um ihre gesellschaftliche Wirkung noch transparenter zu machen – indem sie sie mit hohem Aufwand quantifiziert. Damit können alle Stakeholder die Leistungen ihrer Bank noch besser nachvollziehen und verstehen.

In diesem Kontext hat die GLS Bank das Wuppertal Institut beauftragt, die Klimabilanz ihres Finanz- und Anlageportfolios zu ermitteln. Ziel ist es, sowohl die direkten und indirekten Treibhausgasemissionen (Scope 1, Scope 2 und teilweise Scope 3) als auch die eingesparten Emissionen als einen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz zu bewerten. Vor diesem Hintergrund arbeitet die GLS Bank mit dem Wuppertal Institut an folgenden Punkten:

  • Quantifizierung der Treibhausgasemissionen der GLS Aktiva (Carbon Footprint)
  • Entwicklung und Erprobung von Konzepten für ein längerfristiges Monitoring
  • Abschätzung vermiedener Treibhausgasemissionen der Anlage- und Finanzierungsbereiche

Die methodische Basis sind hierbei insbesondere die aktuellen Guidelines der Platform for Carbon Accounting Financials (PCAF) sowie Vorarbeiten des Wuppertal Instituts. In vielen Bereichen entwickeln die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler darüber hinaus neue Methoden und Modelle innerhalb des Projektes.


Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer