JIKO X

Implementation and Further Development of Mechanisms of the Carbon Market by the "Coordinating Committee on Market Mechanisms and Art. 6"

  • Project no.251576

The coordination unit market mechanisms and Art. 6 ("Koordinierungsstelle Marktmechanismen und Art. 6) of the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) deals with all aspects of the market mechanisms of the carbon market as well as the general aspects of the cooperation mechanisms according to Art. 6 of the Paris Agreement. The focus lays on the development of the market mechanisms of the carbon market within the framework of the UNFCCC (United Nations Climate Chance Conference) – Art. 6 of the Paris Agreement and the related regulations –, their discussion in bilateral and multilateral contexts, the monitoring of their piloting and the support of the development of corresponding emission reduction measures in the partner countries. The diversity of market mechanisms, from their focus on individual projects or programmes to sectoral measures, is the responsibility of the coordination unit. The project is divided into two working areas:

  • 1. Scientific input
    On behalf of the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety, the project staff prepare policy papers, statements, and reports on the UNFCCC negotiations and bodies. In addition, the project team organises technical discussions in order to bring selected topics into the expert community and thus contribute to the agenda setting.
  • 2. Public relations
    As part of the project, the project staff produces numerous publications on the subject of Art. 6, including the quarterly specialist magazine "Carbon Mechanisms Review". The Internet portal www.carbon-mechanisms.de/en developed by the project team offers information for starters as well as reports on current developments in this policy area. The public relations work is completed by flyers, brochures, and articles in social networks.

Further project information

Links


Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

JIKO X

Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung der Mechanismen des Kohlestoffmarktes durch die "Koordinierungsstelle Marktmechanismen und Art. 6"

  • Projekt-Nr.251576
  • Laufzeit 11/2018 - 10/2021

Die "Koordinierungsstelle Marktmechanismen und Art. 6" des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) befasst sich mit allen Aspekten der Marktmechanismen des Kohlenstoffmarktes sowie mit den allgemeinen Aspekten der Kooperationsmechanismen nach Art. 6 des Übereinkommens von Paris. Im Vordergrund stehen die Entwicklung der Marktmechanismen des Kohlenstoffmarktes im Rahmen der Weltklimakonferenz (United Nations Climate Change Conference, UNFCCC) – Art. 6 des Übereinkommens von Paris und das Regelwerk hierzu –, deren Diskussion in bi- und multilateralen Kontexten, die Begleitung ihrer Pilotierung sowie die Unterstützung der Entwicklung von entsprechenden Emissionsminderungsmaßnahmen in den Partnerländern. Die Vielfalt der Marktmechanismen von ihrer Fokussierung auf Einzelprojekte oder Programmen bis hin zu sektoralen Maßnahmen liegen im Aufgabenbereich der Koordinierungsstelle. Dabei gliedert sich das Projekt in zwei Arbeitsbereiche:

  • 1. Wissenschaftliche Zuarbeit
    Die Mitarbeitenden des Projektes erstellen im Auftrag des Bundesumweltministeriums Policy Paper, Stellungnahmen sowie Berichte über die UNFCCC-Verhandlungen und -Gremien. Zusätzlich organisiert das Projektteam Fachgespräche, um ausgewählte Themen in die Fachkräfte-Community hineinzutragen und somit zum Agenda-Setting beizutragen.
  • 2. Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
    Im Rahmen des Projektes erstellen die Projektmitarbeitenden zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen rund um das Thema Art. 6 darunter das vierteljährliche Fachmagazin "Carbon Mechanisms Review". Das vom Projektteam entwickelte Internetportal www.carbon-mechanisms.de bietet sowohl Einsteigerinformationen als auch Berichte über aktuelle Entwicklungen des Politikfelds. Flankiert wird die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit durch Flyer, Broschüren und Beiträge in sozialen Netzwerken.

Weitere Projektinformationen

Links