SmartPlaCE@schools

Serious Game Platform for Education on Circular Economy in Highschools

  • Project no.451554
  • Duration 01/2019 - 12/2020

The project SmartPlaCE@schools develops creative teaching materials for high schools on the topics of linear and circular business models and circular economy. For dissemination purposes, a Europe-wide digital platform is established that will host the materials as well as the game EcoCEO TM, a serious game on circular economy. EcoCEO was realised as an educational tool to impart subject-specific knowledge of raw materials, manufacturing, and entrepreneurship in a playful way. The teaching materials offer both an introduction and in-depth information on concepts and business models of the circular economy. They are developed in co-creation with teachers in the partner countries Belgium, Germany, Estonia and Italy and are tested by pupils from secondary schools. Moreover, the materials are linked to the individual high school curricula.

By illustrating the link between circular economy and sustainability in the raw materials sector and the manufacturing sector, the online platform available at www.ecoceo.eu helps pupils to comprehend the complex topic. It motivates them to discuss possible challenges and take action themselves.

SmartPlaCE@schools follows-up the work of FosterERM@schools, a project in which EcoCEO, the serious game on circular economy, was developed. The project is realized together with the Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR), the Flemish Institute for Technological Research NV (VITO) and the Technological University of Tallinn (TTÜ).


EIT RawMaterials Academy

SmartPlaCE@schools

Serious Game Platform for Education on Circular Economy in Highschools

  • Projekt-Nr.451554
  • Laufzeit 01/2019 - 12/2020

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler entwickeln innerhalb des Projekts "SmartPlaCE@schools" kreative Lehrmaterialien für weiterführende Schulen zu den Themen Kreislaufwirtschaft sowie lineare und zirkuläre Geschäftsmodelle. Innerhalb des Projekts wird eine europaweite digitale Plattform realisiert, auf der die Materialien und das Lernspiel EcoCEO zum kostenlosen Download angeboten werden. EcoCEO wurde als Instrument entwickelt, um Schülerinnen und Schülern fachspezifisches Wissen rund um Rohstoffe, Güterproduktion und Unternehmertum auf spielerische Art zu vermitteln. Die Lehrmaterialien bieten sowohl einen Einstieg als auch vertiefende Informationen zu Konzepten und Geschäftsmodellen der Kreislaufwirtschaft und sind an die Lehrpläne der Sekundarschulen angelehnt. Die Materialien entstehen in Zusammenarbeit mit Lehrkräften in den Partnerländern Belgien, Deutschland, Estland und Italien und werden von Schülerinnen und Schülern weiterführender Schulen getestet.

Durch die Verknüpfung von Güterproduktion, Kreislaufwirtschaft und Nachhaltigkeit im Rohstoffsektor gibt die Onlineplattform unter www.ecoceo.eu Hilfestellung für Schülerinnen und Schüler, sich in diese komplexe Thematik hineinzuversetzen und motiviert, Problemstellungen zu diskutieren und selbst Verantwortung zu übernehmen.

SmartPlaCE@schools ist das Nachfolgeprojekt von FosterERM@Schools, in welchem das Kreislaufwirtschaft-Lernspiel ecoCEO entwickelt wurde. Das Projekt wird zusammen mit Partnern des Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR), des Flemish Institute for Technological Research NV (VITO) und der Technische Universität Tallinn (TTÜ) realisiert.


EU Horizon2020
EIT Raw Materials