KomAVP

Communication Strategy and Implementation in the Development of the Waste Prevention Programme

  • Project no.351799
  • Duration 03/2019 - 07/2020

With the revision of the Waste Framework Directive, the European Commission has again emphasised the concept of the waste hierarchy, according to which the prevention of waste should be the top priority of all waste management planning. The member states are called upon to draw up national waste prevention programmes in which measures already taken, measures still planned and waste prevention targets are to be presented.

Furthermore, the waste prevention programmes are to be evaluated and updated every six years. Against this background, a number of research projects were initiated in Germany, which on the one hand investigated specific fields of action for waste prevention (e.g. the prevention of littering) or were intended to develop innovative forms of implementation. Within the KomAVP project, the researchers are translating the results of scientific studies into concrete contents of a new waste prevention programme, which will more strongly focused than before on individual waste streams and waste prevention concepts, while at the same time concretising the involvement of various actors.

The project pursues the following two concrete objectives:

  • To support the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety in developing a waste prevention programme that translates the various research findings into an action-oriented programme for the next six years;
  • the development of a communication strategy that communicates the programme and its contents to the various target groups in an appealing way, enables the exchange of experience and thus provides a platform for putting waste prevention into practice with a high degree of synergy.

KomAVP

Kommunikationsstrategie und Umsetzung bei der Erstellung des Abfallvermeidungsprogramms

  • Projekt-Nr.351799
  • Laufzeit 03/2019 - 07/2020

Mit der Revision der Abfallrahmenrichtlinie hat die Europäische Kommission erneut das Konzept der Abfallhierarchie betont, wonach die Vermeidung von Abfällen die oberste Priorität aller abfallwirtschaftlichen Planungen darstellen soll. Die Mitgliedsstaaten sind aufgefordert, nationale Abfallvermeidungsprogramme aufzustellen, in denen sowohl bereits getätigte Maßnahmen, weiterhin geplante Maßnahmen und Ziele der Abfallvermeidung dargestellt werden sollen.

Weiterhin sind die Abfallvermeidungsprogramme alle sechs Jahre zu evaluieren und fortzuschreiben. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurden in Deutschland eine Reihe von Forschungsprojekten initiiert, die zum einen spezifische Handlungsfelder der Abfallvermeidung untersucht haben – etwa durch die Vermeidung von "Littering", also Abfälle im öffentlichen Raum – oder innovative Formen der Umsetzung entwickeln sollten. Innerhalb des Projekts KomAVP überführen die Forschenden die Ergebnisse wissenschaftlicher Untersuchungen in konkrete Inhalte eines neuen Abfallvermeidungsprogramms, das stärker als bisher auf einzelne Abfallströme und Abfallvermeidungskonzepte abzielt und gleichzeitig auch die Einbindung verschiedener Akteure konkretisiert.

Das Projekt verfolgt folgende zwei konkrete Zielstellungen:

  • Unterstützung des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) bei der Entwicklung eines Abfallvermeidungsprogramms, das die verschiedenen Forschungsergebnisse in ein handlungsorientiertes Programm für die nächsten sechs Jahre überführt;
  • Entwicklung einer Kommunikationsstrategie, die das Programm und seine Inhalte den verschiedenen Zielgruppen ansprechend vermittelt, Erfahrungsaustausch ermöglicht und somit eine Plattform bietet, die Abfallvermeidung mit einem hohen Maß an Synergie in die Praxis umsetzt.