KNDE

Climate Neutral Germany 2050

  • Project no.152179, 152319
  • Duration 04/2020 - 06/2021

Commissioned by Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende and Stiftung Klimaneutralität, Prognos, the Öko-Institut, and the Wuppertal Institute are developing scientifically sound strategies and measures for Germany's climate neutrality in the European context until 2050. The majority of the climate protection scenarios developed in recent years are based on the Federal Government's emissions target of minus 80 to minus 95 per cent compared to 1990 as the target corridor. However, the reduction of the last 5 per cent for reaching climate neutrality represents an extreme challenge.

In the context of the European discussion on tightening the climate targets for 2030, the level of ambition for greenhouse gas reduction by 2030 is of particular interest. The project researchers consider two variants: a reduction of greenhouse gas emissions by 65 per cent compared to 1990 (main scenario) and a reduction by 60 per cent (minimum variant).

The scenarios cover all sectors and their interactions: energy, industry, buildings, transport, agriculture, Land use, land-use change, and forestry as well as waste. The researchers of the Future Energy and Industrial Systems Division at the Wuppertal Institute are responsible for the development of the scenarios of the industry sector. The industry scenarios are developed using the Wuppertal Institute System Model Architecture for Energy and Emission Scenarios – Energy Demand Model (WISEE-EDM), which simulates the development of the industrial plant park as well as industrial energy requirements and CO2 emissions over time, taking into account production volumes, reinvestment cycles, technological development and (site-specific) availability of energy carriers.


Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

KNDE

Klimaneutrales Deutschland 2050

  • Projekt-Nr.152179, 152319
  • Laufzeit 04/2020 - 06/2021

Im Auftrag von Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende und Stiftung Klimaneutralität erarbeiten Prognos, das Öko-Institut und das Wuppertal Institut wissenschaftlich fundierte Strategien und Maßnahmen zur Klimaneutralität Deutschlands im europäischen Kontext bis 2050. Die Mehrzahl der in den letzten Jahren erarbeiteten Klimaschutzszenarien basieren auf dem Emissionsziel der Bundesregierung von minus 80 bis minus 95 Prozent im Vergleich zu 1990 als Zielkorridor. Gerade die letzten fünf Prozent bis zur Klimaneutralität stellen jedoch eine extreme Herausforderung dar.

Im Kontext der europäischen Diskussion um eine Klimazielverschärfung für 2030 ist insbesondere auch das Ambitionsniveau der Treibhausgas-Minderung bis 2030 von hohem Interesse. Innerhalb des Projekts betrachten die Forschenden hierfür zwei Varianten: eine Minderung der Treibhausgasemissionen um 65 Prozent im Vergleich zu 1990 (Hauptszenario) sowie eine Minderung um 60 Prozent (Minimalvariante).

Die Szenarien umfassen alle Sektoren und ihre Wechselwirkungen: Energie, Industrie, Gebäude, Verkehr, Landwirtschaft, Landnutzung, Landnutzungsänderung und Forstwirtschaft und Abfälle. Die Forschenden aus der Abteilung Zukünftige Energie- und Industriesysteme am Wuppertal Institut sind für die Erarbeitung der Industrieszenarien zuständig. Die Ausarbeitung der Industrieszenarien erfolgt mithilfe des Wuppertal Institute System Model Architecture for Energy and Emission Scenarios – Energy Demand Model (WISEE-EDM), das die Entwicklung des industriellen Anlagenparks sowie die industriellen Energiebedarfe und CO2-Emissionen im zeitlichen Verlauf unter Berücksichtigung von Produktionsmengen, Reinvestitionszyklen, technologischer Entwicklung sowie (standortspezifischer) Verfügbarkeit von Energieträgern simuliert.