Towards Sustainable, Climate Neutral Industry

Wuppertal Institute takes leading role in scientific competence centre SCI4climate.NRW

digital industry
  • Press Releases 18.02.2019
IN4climate.NRWPictured (from left to right): State Secretary Christoph Dammermann from NRW's Ministry for Economy, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy (MWIDE); Dr Christoph Sievering, Head of Energy Strategy and Policy at Covestro Deutschland AG and co-initiator of the initiative; Samir Khayat, Director of IN4climate.NRW; Michael Theben, Head of Unit VII "Climate protection" at the MWIDE; and innovation team leaders Professor Görge Deerberg (Dr.-Ing.), Deputy Director of Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology (UMSICHT), Professor Manfred Fischedick (Dr.-Ing.), Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute, and Dr Bernd Kaletta, Corporate Communications at Lanxess Deutschland GmbH. Photo: IN4climate.NRW

The IN4climate.NRW initiative commenced its work with a kick-off meeting on 15 February. This new working platform is unique in Germany and brings together business, the scientific community and state government. Its objective is to develop strategies to enable industry in North Rhine-Westphalia to maintain its high level of competitiveness, generate additional growth and at the same time contribute to the achievement of the climate protection goals agreed in Paris. More than 20 companies and associations from the fields of steel and metals, chemicals, cement, glass, paper and building materials as well as six research institutes are participating in the initiative. A scientific competence centre entitled SCI4climate.NRW and coordinated by the Wuppertal Institute is providing support to IN4climate.

The IN4climate.NRW initiative was launched in autumn 2018 with the aim of helping to make industry sustainable and climate neutral. With this initiative, the state government of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) has created an innovative platform to initiate an ongoing collective working process involving experts from companies operating in energy-intensive industries, the scientific community and the state government. Representatives of the institutions involved have now met in Düsseldorf. Together, they are forming innovation teams, which will be the central pillars of IN4climate.NRW. The innovation teams will be jointly headed by Professor Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute, and Professor Dr. Görge Deerberg, Deputy Director of Fraunhofer UMSICHT (Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology), as well as by Dr. Bernd Kaletta, LANXESS Deutschland GmbH, Corporate Communications, Head of Environmental Policy and Dr. Hans-Jörn Weddige, Group Coordinator Energy, Climate and Environment Policies, thyssenkrupp AG.

"I'm delighted that we're giving the green light today to a competitive industrial sector free of greenhouse gas emissions. As an innovation lab, IN4climate.NRW will prepare the location of North Rhine-Westphalia for the challenges of the decades ahead and develop visions for the future for climate neutral industry," said Professor Andreas Pinkwart, NRW's Minister for Economy, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy (MWIDE).

Leaps forward in innovation and enhanced cooperation across various industries are required if competitiveness is to be maintained while also achieving the climate protection goals outlined in the Paris Agreement. Experts from companies, trade associations, the scientific community and public administration will bring together corresponding ideas and strategies within this major initiative. They will be supported by over 20 industrial businesses and associations. thyssenkrupp Steel Europe and Covestro AG are among the founder members.

Scientific competence centre SCI4climate.NRW

IN4climate is supported by the state-funded scientific competence centre SCI4climate.NRW. Researchers are investigating the development possibilities and organisational options for setting energy-intensive industry in North Rhine-Westphalia on a climate neutral, sustainable footing. SCI4climate.NRW is a research project involving six institutions and coordinated by the Wuppertal Institute under the lead of Professor Dr. Stefan Lechtenböhmer, Director of the Future Energy and Mobility Structures Division at the Wuppertal Institute. The partners are the Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology (UMSICHT), the German Economic Institute (IW), RWTH Aachen University, the VDEh Institute for Applied Research (BFI) and German cement manufacturers’ association, VDZ gGmbH.

Professor Dr. Stefan Lechtenböhmer highlights "With SCI4climate.NRW we are pursuing an integrative research approach to analyse technological, ecological, economic, institutional, social and (infra)structural challenges together companies operating in North Rhine-Westphalia". "In collaboration with the innovation teams, which are creating unrestricted thinking space for the participating partners away from day-to-day business, SCI4climate is thus making an important contribution towards future-proofing industry in NRW. The circumstances required for the practical realisation of the promising ideas developed by the innovation teams are among the various topics discussed within the project," stressed Professor Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute.
 

Press release

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

Responsible for content: Professor Uwe Schneidewind, President

Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org


Printable pictures

IN4climate.NRW
Pictured (from left to right): State Secretary Christoph Dammermann from NRW's Ministry for Economy, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy (MWIDE); Dr Christoph Sievering, Head of Energy Strategy and Policy at Covestro Deutschland AG and co-initiator of the initiative; Samir Khayat, Director of IN4climate.NRW; Michael Theben, Head of Unit VII "Climate protection" at the MWIDE; and innovation team leaders Professor Görge Deerberg (Dr.-Ing.), Deputy Director of Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology (UMSICHT), Professor Manfred Fischedick (Dr.-Ing.), Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute, and Dr Bernd Kaletta, Corporate Communications at Lanxess Deutschland GmbH. Photo: IN4climate.NRW

The innovation teams
The central pillars of IN4climate.NRW – will be jointly headed by Professor Manfred Fischedick (Dr.-Ing.), Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute, and Professor Görge Deerberg (Dr.-Ing.), Deputy Director of Fraunhofer UMSICHT (Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology), as well as by two industry representatives. Pictured (from left): Manfred Fischedick, host Sabine Giza and Görge Deerberg. Photo: IN4climate.NRW

Industrie zukunftsfähig und klimaneutral gestalten

Wuppertal Institut leitet wissenschaftliches Kompetenzzentrum SCI4climate.NRW

digitale Industrie
  • Pressemitteilungen 18.02.2019
Im Bild (v. l. n. r): Staatssekretär Christoph Dammermann des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (MWIDE), Dr. Christoph Sievering, Leiter Energiestrategie und Energiepolitik der Covestro Deutschland AG und Mitinitiator der Initiative, Samir Khayat, Geschäftsführer IN4climate.NRW, Michael Theben, Leiter der Abteilung VII "Klimaschutz" im MWIDE sowie die Leiter der Innovationsteams Prof. Dr.-Ing. Görge Deerberg, stellv. Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Umwelt-, Sicherheits-, und Energietechnik UMSICHT, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, sowie Dr. Bernd Kaletta, Corporate Communications bei der Lanxess Deutschland GmbH. Foto: IN4climate.NRW

Mit einem Auftakttreffen nahm die Initiative "IN4climate.NRW" am 15. Februar ihre Arbeit auf. Ziel der neuen und bundesweit einzigartigen Arbeitsplattform von Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Landesregierung ist es, Strategien zu erarbeiten, wie die Industrie in Nordrhein-Westfalen ihre hohe Wettbewerbsfähigkeit erhalten, zusätzliches Wachstum erzeugen und gleichzeitig zur Erreichung der Pariser Klimaschutzziele beitragen kann. An der Initiative beteiligen sich über 20 Unternehmen und Verbände aus den Bereichen Stahl und Metalle, Chemie, Zement, Glas, Papier und Baustoffe sowie sechs Forschungseinrichtungen. IN4climate.NRW wird durch das wissenschaftliche Kompetenzzentrum "SCI4climate.NRW" unterstützt, das vom Wuppertal Institut koordiniert wird.

Im Herbst 2018 startete die Initiative IN4climate.NRW, die dazu beitragen soll die Industrie zukunftsfähig und klimaneutral zu gestalten. Mit dieser Initiative rief die Landesregierung Nordrhein-Westfalen eine innovative Plattform ins Leben, die einen kontinuierlichen gemeinsamen Arbeitsprozess von Expertinnen und Experten aus Unternehmen der energieintensiven Industrie, der Wissenschaft und der Landesregierung initiiert. In Düsseldorf trafen sich nun Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der beteiligten Institutionen. Gemeinsam bilden sie die Innovationsteams, die Kernsäule von IN4climate.NRW. Die Co-Leitung der Innovationsteams liegt bei Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Görge Deerberg, stellvertretender Leiter des Fraunhofer UMSICHT sowie zwei Vertretern aus der Industrie.

"Ich freue mich, dass wir heute den Start für eine treibhausgasfreie und gleichzeitig wettbewerbsfähige Industrie geben. IN4climate.NRW wird als Innovationslabor den Standort Nordrhein-Westfalen für die Herausforderungen der kommenden Jahrzehnte rüsten und Zukunftsvisionen für eine klimaneutrale Industrie entwickeln", sagt Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung, und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.
Um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu erhalten und gleichzeitig die Klimaschutzziele des Pariser Klimaabkommens zu erreichen, sind Sprunginnovationen und eine verstärkte branchenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit erforderlich. Ideen und Konzepte hierzu tragen Expertinnen und Experten aus Unternehmen, Wirtschaftsverbänden, Wissenschaft und Verwaltung in der groß angelegten Initiative zusammen. Unterstützt werden sie von über 20 Industrieunternehmen und Verbänden. Zu den Gründungsmitgliedern gehören unter anderem thyssenkrupp Steel Europe und die Covestro AG.

Wissenschaftliches Kompetenzzentrum SCI4climate.NRW

IN4climate wird durch das vom Land geförderte wissenschaftliche Kompetenzzentrum SCI4climate.NRW begleitet. Die Forscher untersuchen hier die Entwicklungs- und Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten einer klimaneutralen und zukunftsfähigen Aufstellung der energieintensiven Industrie in Nordrhein-Westfalen. SCI4climate.NRW ist ein Forschungsprojekt von sechs Instituten, das vom Wuppertal Institut koordiniert wird. Weitere Partner sind das Fraunhofer-Institut für Umwelt-, Sicherheits- und Energietechnik UMSICHT, das Institut der Deutschen Wirtschaft (IW), die RWTH Aachen, das VDEh-Betriebsforschungsinstitut GmbH (BFI) und der Verein deutscher Zementwerke (VDZ gGmbH).

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verfolgen einen integrativen Forschungsansatz und betrachten technologische, ökologische, ökonomische, institutionelle, gesellschaftliche und (infra-)strukturelle Herausforderungen für die nordrhein-westfälischen Unternehmen. "Gemeinsam mit den Innovationsteams, die abseits des Tagesgeschäftes offene Denkräume für die beteiligten Partner schaffen, leistet SCI4climate.NRW damit einen wichtigen Beitrag, die NRW-Industrie zukunftsfest zu machen. Hier werden unter anderem die Rahmenbedingungen diskutiert, die notwendig sind um die erfolgversprechenden Ideen aus den Innovationsteams in die Praxis umzusetzen", betont Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts.

 

Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident

Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org


Pressebilder

Auftakttreffen IN4climate.NRW
Im Bild (v. l. n. r): Staatssekretär Christoph Dammermann des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (MWIDE), Dr. Christoph Sievering, Leiter Energiestrategie und Energiepolitik der Covestro Deutschland AG und Mitinitiator der Initiative, Samir Khayat, Geschäftsführer IN4climate.NRW, Michael Theben, Leiter der Abteilung VII "Klimaschutz" im MWIDE sowie die Leiter der Innovationsteams Prof. Dr.-Ing. Görge Deerberg, stellv. Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Umwelt-, Sicherheits-, und Energietechnik UMSICHT, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, sowie Dr. Bernd Kaletta, Corporate Communications bei der Lanxess Deutschland GmbH. Foto: IN4climate.NRW

Co-Leitung der Innovationsteams
Die Co-Leitung der Innovationsteams, die Kernsäule von IN4climate.NRW, liegt bei Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Görge Deerberg, stellvertretender Leiter des Fraunhofer UMSICHT sowie zwei Industrievertretern. Im Bild (v. l.): Manfred Fischedick, die Moderatorin Sabine Giza und Görge Deerberg. Foto: IN4climate.NRW