Resource Strategies in Japan

  • Project no.2313
  • Duration 01/2007 - 12/2007

Germany and Japan share a set of similarities: both countries are technological pioneers, and they are highly export-oriented and strongly dependent on imports at the same time. While Germany is primarily leading in the field of environmental technologies, Japan is advanced in strategic issues of resource management. The ongoing Japanese G8 initiative "3R" (reduction, reuse, recycle) is meeting great response. This initiative and the Japanese governance structures are interesting for German environmental policies for two reasons: First, national policy can learn from exchange. Secondly, the German EU/G8 presidencies in 2007 offer a favourable time slot for mechanisms of international cooperation and policy learning, especially as Japan takes up the G8 presidency right after Germany.

The main objective of the project is to contribute to the formulation of strategies, policy programmes and concepts for a sustainable use of natural resources with reference to Japanese experiences. The legislative and economic instruments and initiatives implemented for resource conservation and material efficiency in Japan will be highlighted and analysed with particular respect to their success factors, as the Japanese government presently ranks as precursor for a proactive and resource productivity increasing industrial policy.

For the improvement of resource productivity and conservation in Germany, promising collaboration projects in selective innovation fields are to be initiated. Against the background of the German G8 presidency in 2007, two activities will serve as vital elements of the project: 1. A bilateral workshop, i.e. a German-Japanese experts dialogue, and 2. an international conference that involves politics and develops strategies and perspectives for implementation in Germany.

Work packages:

  • Work package I:
    Profile paper describing the present dematerialisation activities within the Factor-8 and 3R initiatives in Japan (brief account)
  • Work package II:
    Investigation, analysis and description of selected dematerialisation approaches within the Factor-8 and 3R initiatives in Japan (detailed account)
  • Work package IIIa:
    "Dematerialisation and resource efficiency in Japan" - Workshop experts/stakeholder dialogue
  • Work package IIIb:
    "German-Japanese cooperation and mutual learning processes in the field 3R - reduce, reuse, recycle" - International conference including politics
  • Work package IV:
    International synopsis paper for policy, business and public; Postprocessing of workshop results and study (final report)

Further project information

Links

Ressourcenstrategien in Japan

  • Projekt-Nr.2313
  • Laufzeit 01/2007 - 12/2007

Deutschland und Japan besitzen eine Reihe von Ähnlichkeiten: Beide Länder sind technologische Pioniere, stark exportorientiert und gleichzeitig in hohem Maße importabhängig von Ressourcen. Während Deutschland vor allem im Bereich der Umwelttechnologie führend ist, ist Japan auf der strategischen Ebene des Ressourcenmanagements weit entwickelt. Japan betreibt eine aktive Industriepolitik und gehört zu den anerkannten Vorreitern bei der Ressourcenproduktivität. Die japanische G8-Initiative über "3R" (Reduction, Reuse, Recycling) findet große Resonanz. Diese Initiative und die japanischen Governance-Strukturen sind von hohem Interesse für die deutsche Umweltpolitik. Zum einen kann die nationale Politik von einem Austausch lernen, zum anderen bietet sich auf Grund der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft und der deutschen G8-Präsidentschaft 2007, die von der japanischen im Jahr 2008 gefolgt wird, ein günstiges Zeitfenster für Mechanismen der internationalen Kooperation und der politischen Lernprozesse.

Übergeordnetes Ziel des Vorhabens ist die Auswertung und Anwendung japanischer Erfahrungen zur Entwicklung von Strategien, politischen Programmen und Konzepten der Bundesregierung zur nachhaltigen Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen. Die legislativen und ökonomischen Instrumente und Initiativen zur Ressourcenschonung bzw. Materialeffizienz der japanischen Industriepolitik sollen näher beleuchtet und hinsichtlich ihrer Erfolgsfaktoren untersucht werden.

Zur Verbesserung der Ressourcenproduktivität und -schonung in Deutschland sollen zudem Kooperationen für Innovationen eingeleitet werden, in denen beide Länder in ausgewählten Schwerpunkten Erfolg versprechend zusammen arbeiten können. Zwei Veranstaltungen sollen als zentrale Elemente des Vorhabens dienen: 1. ein bilateral ausgerichteter Workshop, d. h. deutsch-japanischer Experten-Dialog und 2. eine internationale Konferenz mit Politikbeteiligung, die Strategien und Umsetzungsperspektiven für Deutschland vor dem Hintergrund der G8-Präsidentschaft 2007 entwickelt.

Arbeitspakete:

  • Arbeitspaket I:
    Profilpapier der laufenden Dematerialisierungsbestrebungen im Rahmen der Faktor-8- und 3R-Initiative in Japan (Kurzdarstellung)
  • Arbeitspaket II:
    Recherchen, Analysen und Darstellung ausgewählter Dematerialisierungsbestrebungen im Rahmen der Faktor-8- und 3R-Initiative in Japan (vertiefende Analyse)
  • Arbeitspaket IIIa:
    "Dematerialisierung und Ressourceneffizienz in Japan" - Experten-Workshop mit Stakeholder-Beteiligung
  • Arbeitspaket IIIb:
    "Deutsch-japanische Kooperation und wechselseitige Lernprozesse im Bereich 3R - Reduce-Reuse-Recycle" - Internationale Konferenz mit Politikbeteiligung
  • Arbeitspaket IV:
    Internationales Synthesepapier für Politik, Wirtschaft und Öffentlichkeit - Nachbereitung der Workshopergebnisse und der Literaturstudie (Schlussbericht)

Weitere Projektinformationen

Links