ETC-WMGE

European Topic Centre Waste and Materials in a Green Economy 2014-2018

  • Project no.350299
  • Duration 07/2014 - 12/2018

The "European Topic Centre Waste and Materials in a Green Economy (ETC WMGE) has started its work to advise the European Environment Agency (EEA) on issues of a transformation towards a sustainable resource management in Europe during the next five years. The interdisciplinary consortium of nine European partners will particularly focus on the development of a comprehensive knowledge base for supporting the EU and its member states during their long-term transformation processes to increase the efficiency of resource use. The consortium is coordinated by the Belgium research organisation VITO (visions on technology).

The research group 3 of the Wuppertal Institute is managing two central working aspects:

  • In the area "Waste Prevention and Circular Economy" (WP WaPr), the research group will develop indicators and assessment approaches so that waste prevention can be established as the first priority of the waste hierarchy.
  • Within the area "Resource Efficiency and Material Use" (WP RE), the Institute will continue its successful analyses of the socio-industrial metabolism and contribute to the identification and assessment of resource efficiency policies implemented in the 31 EEA member and corporating countries.

Within the realm of "Production and consumption systems" (WP PCS) the research group 4 is involved in the integral support for the EEA in the analysis of specific sectors of the consumption and production systems such as the food system and the advancement of SCP indicators and accounting frameworks.

ETC-WMGE

European Topic Centre Waste and Materials in a Green Economy 2014-2018

  • Projekt-Nr.350299
  • Laufzeit 07/2014 - 12/2018

Das "European Topic Centre Waste and Materials in a Green Economy" (ETC WMGE) wird in den nächsten fünf Jahren die Europäische Umweltagentur (EUA) in Fragen der Transformation in Richtung eines nachhaltigen Ressourcenmanagements in Europa beraten. In dem interdisziplinären Konsortium aus neun europäischen Partnern steht dabei insbesondere die Entwicklung einer umfassenden Wissensbasis zur Unterstützung der EU und ihrer Mitgliedstaaten bei der Steigerung der Ressourceneffizienz im Fokus. Koordiniert wird das Konsortium von der belgischen Forschungseinrichtung VITO (visions on technology).

Die Forschungsgruppe 3 des Wuppertal Instituts übernimmt die Leitung zweier zentraler Arbeitspakete:

  • Im Bereich "Abfallvermeidung und Kreislaufwirtschaft" (WP WaPr) werden Indikatoren und Bewertungsansätze entwickelt, auf deren Basis die Vermeidung als oberste Priorität der Abfallhierarchie etabliert werden kann.
  • Im Bereich "Ressourceneffizienz und Materialverbrauch" (WP RE) führt das Institut zum einen seine erfolgreichen Arbeiten zur Analyse des sozio-industriellen Metabolismus fort, zum anderen beteiligt es sich an der Identifikation und Bewertung von Ressourceneffizienzpolitiken, die in den 31 EUA-Mitglieds- und kooperierenden Ländern implementiert sind.

Die Forschungsgruppe 4 ist zudem beteiligt am übergreifenden Support für die EUA bei der Analyse von spezifischen Sektoren des Produktions- und Konsumptionssystems (WP PCS) und der Weiterentwicklung der entsprechenden Indikatoren und Erfassungsmethoden, wie im Lebensmittelsystem.