Understanding the Ruhr Area's Restructuring Process

  • Project no.150225
  • Duration 08/2014 - 12/2015

Over five decades, the economy of the Ruhr Valley in Germany has undergone a dramatic restructuring, away from its original coal and steel-based economy to a more diversified and sustainable service economy. Now, China is facing similar challenges like those that initiated the restructuring of the Ruhr Area. Factors like worsening environmental pollution and decreasing demand for steel products require a restructuring of the industrial sector. The restructuring should go hand in hand with a further development of the service sector to soften social hardships and job loss as well as to help stem the tide of the country's worsening environmental pollution.

In the framework of the project, selected researchers and political consultants from Beijing visited North Rhine-Westphalia in order to gather first-hand knowledge of the transition process in the Ruhr Valley. Through interviews with experts, who accompanied and witnessed the local restructuring process closely, the guests from China obtained an overview of historical and current developments. The aim of this interchange was to figure out how the Chinese region Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei can benefit from the experiences made in the Ruhr Valley. In the long run, a continuous knowledge exchange between German and Chinese experts could be initiated on topics yet to be identified.

The project is based on a cooperation between the Wuppertal Institute and the Institute for Industrial Productivity (IIP), an independent non-profit US-American NGO with offices in China, India, the USA and Europe. The role of the IIP is to accelerate the uptake of industrial energy efficiency practices by partnering with both industry and governments.

Den Strukturwandel des Ruhrgebiets verstehen

  • Projekt-Nr. 150225
  • Laufzeit 08/2014 - 12/2015

Seit fünf Jahrzehnten erlebt das Ruhrgebiet einen starken Strukturwandel; die lokale Wirtschaft entwickelt sich von einer durch Kohle und Schwerindustrie geprägten hin zu einer diversifizierteren, nachhaltigeren Ökonomie. Mit ähnlichen Herausforderungen wie denen, die den Strukturwandel im Ruhrgebiet einleiteten, ist derzeit China konfrontiert. Faktoren wie starke Luftverschmutzung und sinkende Nachfrage nach Produkten der Stahlindustrie erfordern industrielle Umstrukturierungen. Daher sollen durch die verstärkte Entwicklung des Dienstleistungssektors Umweltverschmutzung, soziale Härten und Arbeitslosigkeit soweit wie möglich reduziert bzw. verhindert werden.

Im Rahmen des Projekts besuchten ausgewählte, in Peking ansässige Wissenschaftler und Politikberater NRW, um mehr über den Strukturwandel im Ruhrgebiet zur erfahren. Durch Interviews mit Experten, die den Strukturwandel hautnah beeinflusst und miterlebt haben, gewannen die Gäste einen Überblick über historische und aktuelle Entwicklungen. Ziel des Austausches war es herauszufinden, wie die chinesische Wirtschaft in der Region Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei von den im Ruhrgebiet gemachten Erfahrungen profitieren kann. Langfristig könnte ein regelmäßiger Wissensaustausch mit chinesischen Experten zu noch zu identifizierenden Unterthemen initiiert werden.

Das Projekt basiert auf einer Kooperation des Wuppertal Instituts mit dem Institute for Industrial Productivity (IIP), einer gemeinnützigen US-amerikanischen Nichtregierungsorganisation mit Büros in China, Indien, den USA und Europa. Ziel des IIP ist es, durch Zusammenarbeit mit dem Privatsektor und Regierungen die Umsetzung von Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen durch Industrieunternehmen zu beschleunigen.