SynErgie

Synchronized and Energy Adaptive Production Technology for Flexible Alignment of Industrial Processes towards a Fluctuating Energy Supply

  • Project no.150940
  • Duration 09/2016 - 08/2019

With the "Kopernikus-Projekte für die Energiewende" (Kopernikus projects for energy transition), the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) sponsors four key areas of energy transition: the development of the power network (ENSURE), the storage of surplus renewable energy by transformation to other energy sources (P2X), the reconfiguration of industrial processes towards a fluctuating energy supply (SynErgie) as well as the improved interaction of all sectors in the energy system (ENavi).

The "Kopernikus projects" are part of the energy research program "Research for an environmental friendly, reliable and affordable energy supply system", initiated by the Federal Government. The Wuppertal Institut is actively involved in three out of the four projects.

The project "Synchronized and energy adaptive production technology for flexible alignment of industrial processes towards a fluctuating energy supply" (SynErgie) extends the measures of the German industry from efficiency to the requirement of demand side management (flexibility of power supply), in order to better synchronize the demand of production processes with the fluctuating offer of renewable energies. This results in enhanced energy procurement conditions for enterprises and opens up additional advantageous and cost-efficient flexibility capacities for the energy system.

The interdisciplinary consortium of over 50 partners and 25 associates from representative industry companies, well-known scientific partners and civic organisations is coordinated by the Technical University of Darmstadt and the University of Stuttgart.

The Research Group Future Energy and Mobility Structures elaborates the analysis of obstacles in the context of analysis and quantification of the flexibility potential. This analysis explains why a technical potential (according to safety relevant issues of the production plant) can only partly be transferred to practical potential. Some of the most relevant restrictions are that loss of production or degradation of product quality must not occur, that internal processes and organisation procedures shall be assured and that regulations shall be respected. These questions are followed by an economic analysis, because the supply of flexibilities has to be feasible to the industry.

SynErgie

Synchronisierte und Energieadaptive Produktionstechnik zur flexiblen Ausrichtung von Industrieprozessen auf eine fluktuierende Energieversorgung

  • Projekt-Nr.150940
  • Laufzeit 09/2016 - 08/2019

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) fördert mit den "Kopernikus-Projekten für die Energiewende" vier Schlüsselbereiche der Energiewende: die Entwicklung von Stromnetzen (ENSURE), die Speicherung überschüssiger erneuerbarer Energie durch Umwandlung in andere Energieträger (P2X), die Neuausrichtung von Industrieprozessen auf eine fluktuierende Energieversorgung (SynErgie) und das verbesserte Zusammenspiel aller Sektoren des Energiesystems (ENavi). Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft entwickeln gemeinsam technologische und wirtschaftliche Lösungen für den Umbau des Energiesystems. Eine enge Einbindung der Industrie und die Ausrichtung der Projekte auf zehn Jahre sollen die Umsetzung der Ergebnisse aus der Grundlangenforschung hin zur Anwendung sicherstellen.

Das Projekt "Synchronisierte und energieadaptive Produktionstechnik zur flexiblen Ausrichtung von Industrieprozessen auf eine fluktuierende Energieversorgung" (SynErgie) erweitert die Maßnahmen der deutschen Industrie zur Energieeffizienz hinsichtlich der Anforderungen einer energetischen Nachfrageflexibilität, sodass der Energiebedarf von Produktionsprozessen zukünftig besser mit dem fluktuierenden Angebot erneuerbarer Energie synchronisiert werden kann. Dies resultiert für Unternehmen in verbesserten Konditionen der Energiebeschaffung und erschließt für das Stromsystem zusätzliche, systemdienliche und kosteneffiziente Flexibilitätskapazitäten.

Das interdisziplinäre Konsortium von über 50 Partnern sowie 25 Assoziierten aus repräsentativen Industrieunternehmen, renommierten Forschungspartnern und zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen wird koordiniert von der Technischen Universität Darmstadt und der Universität Stuttgart.

Die Forschungsgruppe Zukünftige Energie- und Mobilitätsstrukturen des Wuppertal Instituts bearbeitet im Rahmen der Analyse und Quantifizierung des Flexibilitätspotentzials die Hemmnisanalyse, die darstellt, warum sich ein technisches Potenzial – das sich aufgrund der sicherheitsrelevanten Anforderungen einer Produktionsanlage ergibt – nur zu einem gewissen Anteil in ein umsetzbares Potenzial überführen lässt. Wesentliche Einschränkungen sind dabei vor allem, dass es nicht zu Produktionsausfällen oder Verminderung der Produktqualität kommen darf, innerbetriebliche Abläufe gewährleistet werden sollen sowie regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen beachtet werden müssen. Daran schließt sich eine ökonomische Analyse an, da sich die Bereitstellung von Flexibilitäten für die Industrie auch finanziell lohnen muss.