NH-Sport

Analysis of Development Potentials of Sustainability in the Sporting Goods Industry

  • Project no.451413
  • Duration 12/2017 - 11/2019

Sports activities are becoming increasingly relevant for the German citizens' way of life. Surveys show that around 72 per cent of men and 65 per cent of women do sports at least once a week. One eighth of the German population is a member of one of the 8,500 existing fitness studios in Germany and almost 28 million Germans keep themselves physically fit through sports activities in clubs.
Directly associated with this is a high consumption of sporting goods, that is not limited to textiles and shoes, but also includes sports equipment and sports nutrition/food supplements in the broader sense. Also the sales figures of the local sporting goods industry indicate a clear growth trend: around 25 billion euros were generated in 2016 and, furthermore, one billion euros for food supplements.

The "National Programme for Sustainable Consumption" adopted by the Federal Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety in 2016 shows that sport is an important field of transformation and provides as a broad cross-cutting issue diverse references for achieving the global Sustainable Development Goals (SGDs).

With the project "Analysis of Development Potentials of Sustainability in the Sporting Goods Industry", the Wuppertal Institute and other partners from science and industry are working on behalf of the Federal Environment Agency to strengthen the potentials of sports articles for a sustainable societal development. In addition, the negative environmental impacts of consumption and production within the sporting goods industry are aimed to be reduced through appropriate measures. The project will include workshops with both consumers and industry representatives, surveys on purchasing behaviour, and recommendations for action to consumers and policy makers.

NH-Sport

Analyse von Entwicklungspotentialen von Nachhaltigkeit in der Sportbranche

  • Projekt-Nr.451413
  • Laufzeit 12/2017 - 11/2019

Sportliche Aktivitäten haben eine zunehmend hohe Relevanz für die Lebensgestaltung der Menschen in Deutschland. Erhebungen zeigen, dass rund 72 Prozent der Männer und 65 Prozent der Frauen mindestens einmal pro Woche Sport treiben. Ein Achtel der deutschen Bevölkerung ist Mitglied in einem der rund 8.500 Fitnessstudios und knapp 28 Millionen Menschen halten sich durch Sportaktivitäten im Verein körperlich fit.
Unmittelbar damit verbunden ist ein hoher Konsum von Sportartikeln, welcher sich nicht nur auf Textilien und Schuhe beschränkt, sondern im weiteren Sinne auch Sportgeräte und Sporternährung sowie Nahrungsergänzungsmittel einschließt. Auch die Umsatzzahlen der hiesigen Sportartikelindustrie zeigen einen deutlichen Wachstumstrend: Im Jahr 2016 wurden rund 25 Milliarden Euro erwirtschaftet, hinzu kommt eine Milliarde Euro für Nahrungsergänzungsmittel.

Durch das vom Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit im Jahr 2016 beschlossene "Nationale Programm für nachhaltigen Konsum" zeigt sich, dass der Bereich Sport ein wichtiges Transformationsfeld darstellt und als breites Querschnittsthema vielfältige Bezüge für das Erreichen der globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) liefert.

Mit dem Vorhaben "NH-Sport – Analyse von Entwicklungspotentialen von Nachhaltigkeit in der Sportartikelbranche" wollen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Wuppertal Instituts mit weiteren Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamtes die Potenziale von Sportartikeln für eine nachhaltige gesellschaftliche Entwicklung stärken. Zudem sollen die negativen Umweltauswirkungen von Konsum und Produktion innerhalb der Sportartikelbranche durch einschlägige Maßnahmen reduziert werden. Im Rahmen des Projekts finden Workshops sowohl mit Konsumententinnen und Konsumenten als auch Branchevertreterinnen und -vertretern statt, es werden Erhebungen zum Kaufverhalten durchgeführt sowie Handlungsempfehlungen an Verbraucher und Politik formuliert.