ACCELERATOR

The Sustainable Lifestyles Accelerator - Catalyzing Change

  • Project no. 451434
  • Duration 04/2018 - 03/2021

Households are responsible for most direct and indirect resource use and environmental impact (e.g. 65 per cent  of the global carbon footprint and 48 per cent of the global raw material use). Despite this, private households are not given a strong stake in the political debate. The prerequisites and opportunities of sustainable lifestyles are too often out of focus in the discussion on how to reduce e.g. climate change. Therefore, the sustainability transformation of society, an indispensable challenge in the 21st century, requires attention to the opportunities changes in lifestyles can provide. Households of different social and cultural background should be encouraged to adopt and spread innovative solutions and consumption patterns that affect radically lower footprints. Simultaneously, providers of innovative business solutions facilitating sustainable lifestyles should be involved and supported in going mainstream.

The project aims at mobilizing more than 70,000 private households in seven countries (Germany, Finland, Switzerland, Denmark, Spain, Mexico, India) to analyse their material and carbon footprints, and to plan and implement footprint reductions by behavioural change. The project develops also the tools for further up-scaling the approach.

ACCELERATOR serves to accompany and support such a transition. It consists of five tasks. Initially, existing online and offline tools and household studies are identified in order to better understand the state of the art in the partner countries. The knowledge gained in this way is incorporated in the following task of footprint calculation, individual roadmapping and experiments to reduce the household's footprints. During three rounds with an increasing number of households, a web tool and a communication platform will be developed to accelerate the sustainable lifestyle in the seven partner countries.


Further project information

Links

ACCELERATOR

The Sustainable Lifestyles Accelerator - Catalyzing Change

  • Projekt-Nr.451434
  • Laufzeit 04/2018 - 03/2021

Der Ressourcenbedarf privater Haushalte umfasst circa 65 Prozent der globalen CO2-Emissionen und 48 Prozent des globalen Rohstoffbedarfs. Trotzdem sind die privaten Haushalte nicht stark genug in die politische Debatte eingebunden, wenn es darum geht, die Voraussetzungen und Chancen eines nachhaltigen Lebensstils zu gestalten. Der nachhaltige Wandel der Gesellschaft – eine unverzichtbare Herausforderung im 21. Jahrhundert – erfordert daher Aufmerksamkeit für die Chancen, die sich durch Veränderungen im Lebensstil ergeben können. Haushalte mit unterschiedlichem sozialem und kulturellem Hintergrund sollen daher ermutigt werden, innovative Lösungen und Konsummuster im Sinne eines solchen Wandels zu erfahren und zu verbreiten. Gleichzeitig sollen Anbieter von innovativen Unternehmenslösungen, die einen nachhaltigen Lebensstil ermöglichen, einbezogen und unterstützt werden.

Das Projekt zielt auf eine Mobilisierung von mehr als 70.000 privaten Haushalten in Deutschland, Finnland, der Schweiz, Dänemark, Spanien, Mexiko und Indien. Durch die Analyse des ökologischen Rucksacks und CO2-Fußabdrucks von Haushalten, werden individuelle Roadmaps erstellt, die schließlich auf eine Reduktion des Ressourcenbedarfs und klimaschädlicher Emissionen zielen. Das Projekt entwickelt zusammen mit Haushalten die Werkzeuge für eine breite Umsetzung.

Zu Beginn des Projekts identifizieren die Forscherinnen und Forscher bestehende Online- und Offline-Tools und Haushaltsstudien, um den Stand des Wissens in den Partnerländern besser zu verstehen. Diese Erkenntnisse fließen in die nutzerintegrierte Entwicklung von Tools ein, die eine ökologische Bewertung, individuelles Roadmapping und Experimentieren ermöglichen. In drei Runden mit einer steigenden Anzahl von Haushalten entwickeln sie ein Webtool und eine Kommunikationsplattform, um den Wandel zu einem nachhaltigeren Lebensstil in den sieben Partnerländern zu beschleunigen und Methoden zur Haushaltsaktivierung zu erproben.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links