Sustainable European Bio-Methane Strategy

  • Project no. 3125
  • Duration 09/2009 - 08/2011

About one third of the gas used in western Europe and Germany is imported from Siberia, whereas the transport of the natural gas is mostly realised by high-pressure pipelines via Russia, Belarus and Ukraine.

These are countries, in which biomass for energetic usage could be available in considerable amounts in the long term. Generally, it would be possible to produce bio gas along the existing and planned natural gas pipelines, upgrade it to natural gas quality and inject it to the grid - in order to use it either physically in Germany (and western Europe), or account it virtually in the context of the possibilities made available by the EU Renewables Directive.

The questions emerging from such concepts are manifold. The following focal points are being analysed by the project partners:

  • Energy and climate policies (Wuppertal Institute);
  • Technological, economic and ecologic aspects of bio methane production (DBFZ);
  • Analysis of technical biomass and bio methane potential (TU Dresden, IAMO);
  • Macroeconomic analysis of bio methane production (DBFZ, Wuppertal Institute, IAMO);
  • Analysis of bio methane transport regarding gas economy related aspects (Wuppertal Institute).


The projects aims at drawing conclusions on the potential and possible ways of integration of the supply option "bio-methane from eastern Europe" based on the considered questions. These conclusions will contribute to an evaluation of the variants and potentials of potential European bio-methane injection strategy.

Nachhaltige europäische Biomethanstrategie

  • Projekt-Nr.3125
  • Laufzeit 09/2009 - 08/2011

Etwa ein Drittel des in Westeuropa und Deutschland genutzten Erdgases stammt aus Sibirien, wobei der Erdgastransport vorwiegend durch Hochdruckpipelines durch Russland, Weißrussland und die Ukraine erfolgt.

Gleichzeitig sind dies Länder, in denen perspektivisch energetisch nutzbare Biomassen in erheblichem Umfang zur Verfügung stehen. Grundsätzlich ist es möglich, entlang der bestehenden Erdgaspipelines auf heute nicht oder nur unzureichend genutzten Flächen bzw. dort verfügbare Biomassen Gas zu produzieren, dieses auf Erdgasqualität aufzubereiten und einzuspeisen. Damit wäre es entweder physisch für die deutsche (und westeuropäische) Energieversorgung oder virtuell im Sinne der durch die EU Renewables Directive geschaffenen Möglichkeit nutzbar.

Die Fragestellungen, die sich hieraus ergeben, sind vielfältig. Durch die Partner im Verbundprojekt werden folgende Schwerpunkte bearbeitet:

  • Energie- und Klimapolitische Rahmenbedingungen (Wuppertal Institut);
  • Technik, Kosten und Ökologie der Biomethanbereitstellung (DBFZ);
  • Analyse der technischen Biomasse und Biomethanpotenziale (TU Dresden, IAMO);
  • Gesamtwirtschaftliche Analyse der Biomethanbereitstellung (DBFZ, Wuppertal Institut, IAMO);
  • Gaswirtschaftliche Analyse der Durchleitung von Biomethan (Wuppertal Institut).


Ziel des Projekts ist es, auf der Basis der untersuchten Fragestellungen Schlussfolgerungen für Art und Umfang der Einbindung einer Versorgungsoption "Biomethan aus Osteuropa" abzuleiten. Diese münden in eine Einschätzung möglicher Varianten und Potenziale für eine perspektivisch zu entwickelnde europäische Biomethanspeise-Strategie.