Experiences of Implementing State-Wide Sustainability Strategies - Case Study: Sustainability Strategy NRW

  • Project no.151063, 251064, 451065, 651062, 650993
  • Duration 10/2016 - 12/2020

The federal government of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) determined the state's sustainability strategy by cabinet decision on 14 June, 2016. In the medium term, between 2016 and 2020, the government will focus on implementing its first sustainability strategy as well as monitoring its progress and updating it accordingly. Based on the example of North Rhine-Westphalia, this research project aims at exploring selected questions that typically arise during the implementation of a statewide sustainability strategy. The research will focus on the following two topics:

1. The compatibility of NRW's sustainability strategy with existing sustainability strategies on UN, EU and national level.

2. The analysis of interdependencies between different fields of action, cross-cutting topics and focal areas of the state's sustainability strategy.

The research project "Experiences of Implementing State-Wide Sustainability Strategies - Case Study: Sustainability Strategy NRW" comprises four parts - compatibility (part A), interdependencies (part B), "TEAM Sustainability" (part C) and sustainability radar (part D) - with a total of six research modules.

In part A, the compatibility of NRW's sustainability strategy is analysed with regard to the objectives and indicators used in NRW (research module A1) as well as procedures and instruments (research module 2) and sustainability strategies on UN, EU and national level. In addition, the existing variety and constellation of stakeholders in different fields of action in NRW is being analysed (research module A3).

In part B, the interdependencies in two central areas in NRW's sustainability strategy are analysed: First, the interactions within the system of objectives and indicators (research module B1). Second, the effects that the future sustainability assessment will have on state laws and regulations and the interdependencies it addresses (research module B2).

From the beginning, the "TEAM Sustainability" will be involved in the discussion process regarding the implementation of the state's sustainability strategy. "TEAM Sustainability" is made up of relevant statewide players from around the state, thus bundling the different facets and contents of the on-going debate surrounding sustainability. It continuously advises and reflects on the research project during scientific processing (part C).

The research module D "Sustainability Radar" serves the foresighted identification and investigation of central information on new sustainability and environmental policy topics, trends and dates.

Sponsor:
Ministry for Environment, Agriculture, Conservation and Consumer Protection of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

Supervision:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick (Vice-President, Wuppertal Institute)

Umsetzungserfahrungen mit Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategien - Fallstudie Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW

  • Projekt-Nr.151063, 251064, 451065, 651062, 650993
  • Laufzeit 10/2016 - 12/2020

Die Landesregierung Nordrhein-Westfalens hat mit ihrem Kabinettsbeschluss vom 14. Juni 2016 die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen beschlossen. In den nächsten Jahren, im mittelfristigen Zeitraum von 2016 bis 2020, steht nun die Umsetzung, die Fortschrittskontrolle und die Fortschreibung dieser ersten Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für Nordrhein-Westfalen im Mittelpunkt des Regierungshandelns. Das Ziel dieses Forschungsprojektes ist es, am Fall der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen ergebnisoffen ausgewählte Fragen zu erforschen, die typischerweise bei der Umsetzung einer Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategie auftreten. Dabei werden zwei thematische Schwerpunkte gesetzt:

1. Die Kompatibilität der NRW-Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie mit den Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien auf UN- sowie EU- und Bundesebene.

2. Die Analyse von Wirkungszusammenhängen in den Handlungsfeldern, Querschnittsthemen und Schwerpunktbereichen der NRW-Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie.

Insgesamt besteht das Forschungsprojekt "Umsetzungserfahrungen mit Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategien - Fallstudie Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW" aus den vier Teilen Kompatibilität (Teil A), Wirkungszusammenhänge (Teil B), "TEAM Nachhaltigkeit" (Teil C) und Nachhaltigkeitsradar (Teil D) mit insgesamt sechs Forschungsmodulen.

In Teil A wird die Kompatibilität der NRW-Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie analysiert hinsichtlich der in NRW jeweils verwendeten Ziele und Indikatoren (Forschungsmodul A1) sowie Verfahren und Instrumente (Forschungsmodul A2) mit den Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien auf UN-, EU- und Bundesebene; hinzu kommt die Analyse der Akteurslandschaft in NRW in den verschiedenen Handlungsfeldern (Forschungsmodul A3).

In Teil B werden die Wirkungszusammenhänge in zwei zentralen Bereichen der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW analysiert: die Wechselwirkungen innerhalb des Ziele- und Indikatorensystems (Forschungsmodul B1) und spezifisch die Wirkungen, welche die zukünftige Nachhaltigkeitsprüfung für Gesetze und Verordnungen des Landes NRW entfaltet bzw. die Wirkungszusammenhänge, die durch sie angesprochen sind (Forschungsmodul B2).

Von Anfang an eingebunden in den Diskussionsprozess zur Umsetzung der Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategie wird das "TEAM Nachhaltigkeit". Das TEAM setzt sich aus nachhaltigkeitsrelevanten Akteuren des Landes zusammen und bündelt dabei verschiedene Facetten und Inhalte der Nachhaltigkeitsdebatte. Das "TEAM Nachhaltigkeit" dient der kontinuierlichen Beratung und Reflexion des Forschungsprojektes während der wissenschaftlichen Bearbeitung (Teil C).

Das Forschungsmodul D "Nachhaltigkeitsradar" dient der vorausschauenden Identifikation und Untersuchung von zentralen Informationen zu neuen nachhaltigkeits- und umweltpolitischen Themen, Trends und Terminen.

Förderer:
Ministerium für Umwelt, Landwirtschaft, Natur- und Verbraucherschutz des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Supervision:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick (Vizepräsident, Wuppertal Institut)