TFE-NRW

Technologies for Energy System Transformation – North Rhine-Westphalia

  • Project no.151800
  • Duration 10/2019 - 07/2020

Within the research project TFE-NRW the Wuppertal Institute evaluated the research demand for energy system transformation technologies in North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW). The aim was to find out which technologies and areas of research in the context of energy research for NRW could be particularly important in relation to the assessment for Germany, taking into account the special requirements of NRW, for which special support in the context of energy research seems justified.
31 technology fields from the fields of renewable energies, conventional power plants, infrastructure, technologies for sector coupling (Power-to-X, P2X), energy and resource-efficient buildings, energy and resource efficiency in industry and integrative aspects were considered, which were qualitatively assessed with the help of a criteria grid.

Subsequently, the researchers of the German Economic Institute determined an initial assessment of the economic opportunities of eight of the most relevant fields of technology for North Rhine-Westphalia. With the help of a gap analysis, the Wuppertal Institute identified the need for action specifically for North Rhine-Westphalia is then identified for these fields of technology. Finally, they develop criteria and derive additional impulses for innovative projects as parts of the energy system of the future in the Rhenish and Ruhr regions.

TFE-NRW

Technologien für die Energiewende – Nordrhein-Westfalen

  • Projekt-Nr.151800
  • Laufzeit 10/2019 - 07/2020

Innerhalb des Projekts TFE-NRW bewertete das Wuppertal Institut den Forschungsbedarf für Energiewende-Technologien in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Ziel war es herauszufinden, welche Technologien und Forschungsbereiche im Rahmen der Energieforschung für Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW) einen besonders hohen Stellenwert in Relation zur Bewertung für Deutschland haben könnten und für die eine besondere Unterstützung innerhalb der Energieforschung gerechtfertigt erscheint. Dabei sollten die speziellen Anforderungen des Bundeslandes berücksichtigt werden.
Betrachtet wurden 31 Technologiefelder aus den Bereichen erneuerbare Energien, konventionelle Kraftwerke, Infrastruktur, Technologien für die Sektorenkopplung (Power-to-X, P2X), energie- und ressourceneffiziente Gebäude, Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz in der Industrie und integrative Aspekte, die mithilfe eines Kriterienrasters qualitativ bewertet wurden.

Anschließend nahmen die Forschenden des Instituts der deutschen Wirtschaft eine erste Einschätzung der wirtschaftlichen Chancen von acht der für Nordrhein-Westfalen relevantesten Technologiefelder vor. Mithilfe einer Lückenanalyse identifizierte das Wuppertal Institut daraufhin den spezifisch für Nordrhein-Westfalen bestehenden Handlungsbedarf für diese Technologiefelder. Abschließend erstellten sie Bewertungskriterien und leiteten zusätzlich Impulse für innovative Projekte als Baustein des Energiesystems der Zukunft im Rheinischen Revier und im Ruhrgebiet ab.