LIVING LAB

Design Study for the Living Lab Research Infrastructure to Research Human Interaction with, and Stimulate the Adoption of, Sustainable, Smart and Healthy Innovations around the Home

  • Project no.3426
  • Duration 01/2008 - 12/2009

The project's aim is to develop a design study of a future European research infrastructure that researches the acceptance and the human interaction with, and stimulates the adoption of sustainable, smart and healthy innovations around the home.

Living Labs address some of the difficulties that occur in the course of an innovation process. Worldwide, 85 percent of development efforts are spent on products and services that never reach the market. At the same time, the experts often totally underestimate the market potential of many products and services. Living Labs are an approach to stimulate user-driven innovation, which can lead to a better understanding of customer needs and thus to more successful innovations.

This approach is particularly important in the field of the so-called eco-innovations designed to respond problems like climate change and increasing resource use fast and efficiently. Also other trends like e.g. the demographic change or a developing tendency of individualisation represent a new challenge with regard to a profound understanding of customers.

The LIVING LAB infrastructure will be designed out of different elements. Based on a network of stake-holders from academia, business and government it offers a three-step research portfolio:

  • Insight generation in existing homes, monitoring living behaviour over an extended period of time and getting real-life observation results.
  • Alpha-testing of prototypes of sustainable innovations, taking place in lab houses. Those modular, highly flexible dwellings enable testing of building-integrated systems as well as products of daily use, both installation and user experiences are considered.
  • Evaluating fully functional prototypes in the field, i.e. in existing or newly built homes. Again, this testing will take place over a prolonged period of time.


New research methods will be developed in the context of LIVING-LAB projects in order to gain experience and data on innovations which are able to reduce resource use in households, e.g. so-called Open Innovation Sessions.

Within the European pool, the Wuppertal Institute represents the consumption and sustainability research and acts as moderator and integrator for the different participating expert disciplines. Based on a focused foresight process it has elaborated an intersectoral research profile and strategy.

LIVING LAB

Design Study for the Living Lab Research Infrastructure to Research Human Interaction with, and Stimulate the Adoption of, Sustainable, Smart and Healthy Innovations around the Home

  • Projekt-Nr.3426
  • Laufzeit 01/2008 - 12/2009

LIVING LAB ist der Name einer zukünftigen europäischen Forschungsinfrastruktur, die die Akzeptanz ressourceneffizienter Innovationen im Haushalt erforscht und verbessert. Ziel des Projekts ist die Erarbeitung einer Designstudie für besagte Infrastruktur.

Einerseits werden weltweit 85 Prozent aller Entwicklungskosten in Produkte und Dienstleistungen investiert, die nie zur Marktreife gelangen. Andererseits werden zahlreiche Produkte von Experten unterschätzt und nicht weiterentwickelt. LIVING LAB verfolgt den Ansatz eines auf den Nutzer fokussierten Innovationsprozesses (user-driven innovation) mit dem Ziel, das Konsumentenverhalten besser zu verstehen und dadurch erfolgreiche Innovationen zu entwickeln.

Dies ist besonders wichtig bei sogenannten Öko-Innovationen, die Problemen wie Klimawandel und zunehmendem Ressourcenverbrauch schnell und effektiv begegnen sollen. Aber auch andere Trends wie z.B. der demographische Wandel oder eine fortschreitende Individualisierung stellen neue Anforderungen an ein profundes Verständnis der Konsumenten.

LIVING LAB soll als Forschungsinfrastruktur aus verschiedenen Elementen bestehen. Ein Netzwerk von Partnern aus Industrie, Forschung und öffentlicher Verwaltung soll eine Forschung in drei Schritten ermöglichen:

  • Die Beobachtung und Untersuchung von Nutzern in ihrem realen Lebensumfeld, d. h. in bestehenden Wohnungen und Häusern über einen längeren Zeitraum.
  • Das sogenannte Alpha Testing, d. h. das Testen von Prototypen in einem Laborhaus, in das die Nutzer für einen bestimmten Zeitraum einziehen. Diese Laborhäuser sind modular aufgebaut und hochflexibel. Auf diese Weise können verschiedenerlei Versuchsanordnungen realisiert werden und alles - vom Brauchwasserrecycling bis zur sozialen Interaktion - innerhalb einer Familie untersucht werden.
  • Die Untersuchung voll funktionsfähiger Prototypen im realen Umfeld, auch Beta Testing genannt. Hier werden die Erfahrungen aus dem Laborhaus "im Feld" getestet.


Im Rahmen des LIVING-LAB-Projekts werden auch Forschungsmethoden entwickelt und getestet, um Erkenntnisse über Innovationen zu gewinnen, mit denen Nutzer ihren Ressourcenverbrauch im Haushalt senken können, z. B. sogenannte Open Innovation Sessions.

Im europäischen Konsortium vertritt das Wuppertal Institut die Konsum- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung und tritt zugleich als Moderator und Integrator der beteiligten unterschiedlichen Fachdisziplinen auf. In einem fokussierten Foresightprozess hat es für das Projekt ein übergreifend Forschungsprofil und -strategie erarbeitet.