LCFC

Low Carbon Future Cities - A Sino-German Cooperation on an Integrated Climate and Resource Proof Urban Development

  • Project no.3137, 3255, 3342
  • Duration 03/2011 - 02/2014

Urbanisation poses a significant challenge in the 21st century with an estimated 80 percent of global greenhouse gas emissions linked to urban areas. With global urbanisation expected to increase from 50 to 60 percent of the global population in the near future, the enormous contribution of urban areas to global greenhouse gas emissions is bound to further increase. Therefore, urban low carbon concepts are an essential element of an effective climate policy strategy.

The project "Low Carbon Future Cities" is addressing this large mitigation potential through Low Carbon Future City (LCFC) concepts in an integrated and participatory approach. It brings together the concepts of low-carbon, circular economy and adaptation to climate change. Combining different approaches for tackling climate change, the Low Carbon Future Cities project is a first-of-its-kind activity and highly innovative.

The project will scientifically explore the Low Carbon Future City concept in two case studies: the German region of Düsseldorf and the Chinese city of Wuxi. Both cities are aspiring to lower their environmental footprint and increase their resilience by developing and implementing an integrated climate strategy. The concepts developed for these two different urban areas, one located in a Western industrialised country and the other located in a Far Eastern fast-growing country, shall function as examples to cities in other parts of the world.

The scientific analysis will be supplemented with a stakeholder dialogue. The rationale of the forum is to foster Sino-German mutual learning and disseminate the outcomes of the research to decision-makers from politics, industry and civil society in order to ensure a high impact.

The Low Carbon Future City strategies will be developed in a Sino-German consortium of research institutions under the leadership of the Wuppertal Institute. Research will be conducted in close co-operation with partners in both cities and the sponsoring foundation, Stiftung Mercator.

LCFC

Low Carbon Future Cities - A Sino-German Cooperation on an Integrated Climate and Resource Proof Urban Development

  • Projekt-Nr. 3137, 3255, 3342
  • Laufzeit 03/2011 - 02/2014

Eine große Herausforderung des 21. Jahrhundert ist es, die Treibhausgasemissionen großer städtischer Ballungsräume zu senken. Derzeit entstehen 80 Prozent der globalen anthropogenen Treibhausgase in urbanen Regionen. Mittelfristig ist zu erwarten, dass der Anteil der in Städten lebenden Weltbevölkerung von 50 auf 60 Prozent ansteigt. Die urbanen Treibhausgasemissionen werden folglich weiter steigen. Städtische Klimaschutzkonzepte sind daher ein entscheidendes Element effektiver Klimaschutzpolitik.

Das Projekt "Low Carbon Future Cities" (LCFC) adressiert dieses große Minderungspotential mit einem integrierten und partizipativen Ansatz. Dabei werden die Konzepte einer kohlenstoffarmen (Low-Carbon) Wirtschaft mit Strategien zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel und der Einführung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft zusammengeführt. Diese ganzheitliche Herangehensweise ist bislang einzigartig und verleiht dem "Low Carbon Future Cities"-Projekt einen innovativen Charakter.

Erforscht und entwickelt wird das Konzept "Low Carbon Future City" parallel in zwei Fallstudien: der Region Düsseldorf und der chinesischen Stadt Wuxi. Beide Regionen bzw. Städte streben an, ihre Umwelt- und Klimabilanz sowie die Widerstands- und Anpassungsfähigkeit ihrer urbanen Systeme mit einer integrierten Klimastrategie zu verbessern. Die Konzepte, die für diese beiden unterschiedlichen Regionen entwickelt werden - die eine in einem westlichen, industrialisierten Land und die andere in einem fernöstlichen, rasant wachsenden Land -, sollen Beispiele für andere Städte auf der Welt sein.

Die wissenschaftliche Analyse wird durch einen umfassenden Stakeholder-Dialog begleitet. Die Zielsetzungen dieses Dialogs sind das gegenseitige Lernen sowie der Austausch von Wissen und Erfahrungen in chinesisch-deutscher Kooperation. Die Ergebnisse sollen Entscheidungsträgern in Politik, Industrie, und Gesellschaft zugänglich gemacht werden, um eine hohe Wirkung zu erzielen.

Die Erarbeitung der "Low Carbon Future City"-Strategien erfolgt in einem deutsch-chinesischen Konsortium verschiedener Forschungsinstitutionen unter der Leitung des Wuppertal Instituts. Die Forschungsarbeit findet in enger Partnerschaft mit den chinesischen und deutschen Kommunalverwaltungen sowie dem Zuwendungsgeber des Projekts, der Stiftung Mercator, statt.