DekarbInd

Decarbonisation of Industrial Production (DekarbInd) – Assessment of Decarbonisation Measures and Development of Key Points of a Roadmap for the Steel and Cement Industry

  • Project no.152104
  • Duration 02/2020 - 01/2022

Germany's goal is to become largely greenhouse gas neutral by 2050. In 2018, the German industrial sector emitted around 196 million tons of CO2 equivalents. This means that it accounts for 23 percent of national greenhouse gas emissions and is the second largest source of emissions in Germany following the energy sector. Around two thirds of industrial emissions come from energy-intensive industries, with the steel and cement industry being responsible for more than half of these emissions.
The decarbonisation of the industrial sector requires new technological concepts and appropriate political frameworks which, early on, point the industry towards fields of action and decision-making paths. This project develops key steps towards roadmaps for the decarbonisation of the steel and cement industry. These key steps highlight which technologies and measures can be implemented by the cement and steel industry by 2030 and which additional action is required by 2050.

The project is scientifically supported by the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI (project lead), the Wuppertal Institute and the University of Lund. The aim of involving stakeholders from industry, social interest groups, politics and science is to develop the key steps in a transparent, participatory and practice-oriented way.

The participating researchers of the Wuppertal Institute focus on the development of a cross-sectoral methodology to evaluate industrial decarbonisation measures and, jointly with the rest of the research team, on the development of key steps for a roadmap toward the decarbonisation of the cement industry. The project is funded by the German Environment Agency (German: Umweltbundesamt, UBA).

DekarbInd

Dekarbonisierung der industriellen Produktion (DekarbInd) – Bewertung von Dekarbonisierungsmaßnahmen und Erarbeitung von Eckpunkten einer Roadmap für die Stahl- und Zementindustrie

  • Projekt-Nr.152104
  • Laufzeit 02/2020 - 01/2022

Deutschland soll bis zum Jahr 2050 weitgehend treibhausgasneutral werden. 2018 emittierte der deutsche Industriesektor etwa 196 Millionen Tonnen CO2-Äquivalente. Damit trägt er mit 23 Prozent zu den nationalen Treibhausgasemissionen bei und ist nach der Energiewirtschaft die zweitgrößte Emissionsquelle in Deutschland. Etwa zwei Drittel der industriellen Emissionen stammen aus der energieintensiven Industrie. Die Stahl- und Zementindustrie wiederum verursachen mehr als die Hälfte dieser Emissionen.

Die Dekarbonisierung des Industriesektors erfordert neue technologische Konzepte und passende, langfristig angelegte politische Rahmenbedingungen, die den Industrien frühzeitig Handlungsfelder und Entscheidungspfade eröffnen. Im Projekt erstellen die Forschenden Eckpunkte für Roadmaps zur Dekarbonisierung der Stahl- und Zementindustrie. Die Eckpunkte geben konkrete Hinweise, welche Techniken und Maßnahmen bis zum Jahr 2030 von der Zement- und Stahlindustrie umgesetzt werden können und welche weiteren Schritte bis zum Jahr 2050 erforderlich sind.
Das Projekt wird vom Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI (Projektleitung), dem Wuppertal Institut sowie der Universität Lund wissenschaftlich begleitet. Bei dem Vorhaben werden Stakeholder aus Industrie, gesellschaftlichen Interessengruppen sowie Politik und Wissenschaft eingebunden. So soll es gelingen, die Eckpunkte unter der Bedingung größtmöglicher Transparenz, Mitwirkung und Praxisnähe zu entwickeln.

Die beteiligten Forschenden des Wuppertal Instituts entwickeln schwerpunktmäßig eine branchenübergreifende Methodik zur Bewertung von Dekarbonisierungsmaßnahmen in der Industrie allgemein sowie gemeinsam mit dem gesamten Forschungsteam Eckpunkte einer Roadmap für die Dekarbonisierung der Zementindustrie. Das Projekt wird vom Umweltbundesamt (UBA) gefördert.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Downloads